Sorta Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Delicious! Maybe need to season the meat before browning it. Other than that, it was very good. Update - 4/27/12 - Made this again for dinner and I seasoned the meat with garlic powder, salt, and pepper prior to flouring. Perfect meal! Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Porterfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
OK, so here's the deal. I had all of the ingredients except the beef broth. So I improvised. I used 1 cup water, 1 cup white wine and 3 beef bouillon cubes (the little ones). I did season each piece of meat as I was frying it with garlic salt and McCormick Season All. All I can say is "Oh My God!!!" My husband had 3 1/2 pieces. It came out really good. I also did NOT make the gravy since the wine was going to add flavor to it. Totally YUMMY! With my changes it's a definite 5 star meal. Oh, and I only baked it for 1 1/2 hrs. We were hungry. Still very tender and moist. No need for 2 hours especially if you cook it covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This has become one of my favorite comfort foods. It is soooo easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Camper 09

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Good basic recipe..but I also added spices to the dredging flour(as others have) then 2 tblsp of Kitchen Bouquet in the broth(makes it a darker broth/gravy) with a tblsp of liquid smoke, as well as an extra can of beef broth...then I divided a bag of frozen mixed veggies(peas, corn, carrots, beans), with the onion layers...YUMMO ! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWINWI
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
My family REALLY loved this recipe! Its a comfort food that will stay in my recipe box. I didn't need as much flour as called for. I would like to make this in the slow cooker next time. I used beef broth because we like the flavor and used some beef gravy mix that I make (from the Make a Mix book). The gravy mix added quite a bit of flavor in my opinion. I also added a splash of soy sauce. I feel this is a kid friendly recipe and my kids, grandkids would eat this in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Council, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Easy and Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Made as directed and the cube steaks were fork tender with decent flavor. Will probably make again as this was really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made this because I had some beef that was a bit too tough. I wanted a recipe that required a slower/longer cooking time. So I gave this a try. Even though I did not use cube steak, the recipe turned out to be all I expected and more. It was very good. Ill make it again in a few days and I will be using the called for cube steak and expect it will be even better. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
We really liked this one! The meat was tender and flavorful! The fam doesn't care much for Onions so I substituted 1 package Onion soup mix and 1/3 cup cooking Sherry. I thought it was a little salty but my husband thought it was perfect. (Next time I'll use 1/4 cup) Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This one was fork tender, but I had a couple of issues. First, I too added seasoning to the flour. Salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder. I was a little concerned when I put it all in my dutch oven that the broth wasn't completely coving the meat. I put it in at 350 for the alloted time and when I pulled it out almost all the broth had evaporated. If I did this again I would completely cover my meat and onions with the broth and turn the oven way down to maybe 300. 350 for 2 hours is a long time. My oven temp is spot on and I use very good enamel pots. I was able to salvage the gravy by adding the rest of my box of beef broth and heating it up. I had no issue with whisking the leftover flour into my pot and getting it to thicken without lumps. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States