Sorta Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
My husband's favorite food is cubed steaks, but to me, they always come out tough. Not anymore! These are extremely tender and very flavorful! I added garlic salt to the steaks, but made the rest as written. I would give this recipe more than 5 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Although the steaks were tender, this meat is very bland. Might could be good if doctored ALOT. Will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Cube steaks are tough and very bland so they need lots of "doctoring." This recipe adequately tenderizes the steaks, but contributes hardly any flavor. The only seasoning is a bit of Worchestershire. Even after adding salt and pepper, my family found the meat and gravy to be ho hum. Another problem with this recipe is the gravy prep. When making gravy properly you blend flour with fat and get a smooth paste before adding liquid. This recipe has you add flour to the fat AND broth so the flour immediately clumps up. The solution would be to retain your pan drippings when you brown the meat, add flour to those drippings and then add broth last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Very good - - Simple to make. A comforting and tasty weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
We had a recipe just like this in the Amana Colonies, and my husband just loves it. It's so easy, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
The best recipe for cube steak I've found! I seasoned the meat w/seasoning salt, garlic salt, and pepper as I was browing it, then dredged it in flour. For the 2 cups of stock, I added water to skillet I browned the meat in, then added a little more water to come to 2c.-delicious! I also thought the gravy was thick enough after cooking-I didn't add any additional flour. Served it over mashed potatoes and peas and had a wonderful supper! Thanks, this will definitely be "my" cube steak recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This is the first recipe that makes these chopped steaks tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This is the first recipe I tried from this site, and boy was it good!! I cooked mine in a crock pot like other poster's did. I added seasoning (seasoned salt, pepper, and garlic) to meat before dipping in flour. This was so good and tasty, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was great but I only really used it for cooking technique. I used New York Steaks pounded and cut in thirds. More seasoning all around: about a teaspoon each of celery salt, garlic salt, fresh ground pepper in the flour. Added about 2 Tbsp. fresh rosemary, then some thyme and bay leaf sprinkles, and 2 cloves garlic to the broth. Used one fewer spoons of Worchester -- because of other comments. And splashed in about 1/4 cup cabernet sauvignon-- to make sure it tenderized. Great flavor. Also strained and de-fatted the remaining broth after adding flour and wisking. Made the gravy very smooth. Placed steaks back in gravy to serve. Will continue to tweak, but really good start. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I really like this recipe, since I'm not a mushroom fan, since it doesn't call for mushrooms, plus it's easy to make with cube steaks rather than combining ground meat with egg, etc. I add 1/2 tsp. each of salt and pepper to the flour. I didn't have much liquid left after cooking so I added only a few tbsp. of reserved flour and some milk to create a nice gravy. Near the end I added an additional 1 tsp. worstershire sauce just for personal preference, though I'm sure it would have been fine without. I ended up with a little extra gravy but when has that ever been a problem? Very good, very simple, very inexpensive. Thanks Nanci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States