Sorta Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
To my mind, not at all like Salisbury Steak. This was very, very good on its own. I cooked on low in the crockpot for 8 hrs; dredged the meat in flour and seasoned salt, then browned, then layered in crockpot with onion and all the liquid called for. After 8 hours, I pulled everything out and made a delicious gravy with the liquid. The cube steak was falling apart as it was being served - I've never had such great-tasting, tender cube steak! I served with buttered egg noodles and brussel sprouts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Cube steaks are tough and very bland so they need lots of "doctoring." This recipe adequately tenderizes the steaks, but contributes hardly any flavor. The only seasoning is a bit of Worchestershire. Even after adding salt and pepper, my family found the meat and gravy to be ho hum. Another problem with this recipe is the gravy prep. When making gravy properly you blend flour with fat and get a smooth paste before adding liquid. This recipe has you add flour to the fat AND broth so the flour immediately clumps up. The solution would be to retain your pan drippings when you brown the meat, add flour to those drippings and then add broth last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Marie Sweden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Yes, yes, yes! These are soooo good. Nice and warm and homey feeling. I only use 4 cube steaks, dry onion soup mix instead of the onion (4 yr. old won't touch them), and add mushrooms. All the other recipes I'd found called for mixing ground meat with bread crumbs, then frying, etc. I call those meatloaves, not salisbury steak..lol. Thank you, Nanci, for such a great comforting recipe. *Update* : I've found that seasoning the steaks before you dredge them in flour makes them even better. I just use salt, pepper, and garlic powder, but you could use whatever you like. I have also started thickening the broth with a cornstarch/water mixture. That way, you definitely don't get any lumps from the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I have made this twice using 4 cube steak. First time I added quartered mushrooms and chopped the onion instead of slicing. Came out pretty good so I tried again. Second time I omitted to worchershire, chopped the onion and sliced 8 oz mushrooms. Seasoned steaks with salt and pepper and then dredged in flour and browned. Then I added onions and sauted until limp and then added mushrooms and lightly browned. Added two cans beef stock, salt & pepper to tasted and added 1/4 teas. garlic powder. Simmered on stove for 2 hours. Last 30 minutes of simmering, I removed some broth and blended well with 1 tables cornstarch and returned to pan and continued simmering 30 minutes. Served with mashed potatoes and sauted zuchinni. Great gravy! Thanks so much for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My family loved it. Used lipton onion soup mix instead of onions. And served with rice. Was very tender and my husband asked for more. Didn't make enough gravy for my family so I made our favorite packaged gravy and mixed it in with the gravy as noted in the recipe. Turned out perfect. This is a keeper in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This was great but I only really used it for cooking technique. I used New York Steaks pounded and cut in thirds. More seasoning all around: about a teaspoon each of celery salt, garlic salt, fresh ground pepper in the flour. Added about 2 Tbsp. fresh rosemary, then some thyme and bay leaf sprinkles, and 2 cloves garlic to the broth. Used one fewer spoons of Worchester -- because of other comments. And splashed in about 1/4 cup cabernet sauvignon-- to make sure it tenderized. Great flavor. Also strained and de-fatted the remaining broth after adding flour and wisking. Made the gravy very smooth. Placed steaks back in gravy to serve. Will continue to tweak, but really good start. Great comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
My husband and boys really liked this recipe. It was so gooood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This recipe smelled so good cooking and the first few bites were great, then the Worcestershire sauce started overpowering the dish. I would make this again, but cut the Worcestershire sauce back to maybe one teaspoon, or not use it at all. All in all, it was an easy dish to make and the meat was fork tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
This was a VERY decent dish. I only had three cube steaks, so I scaled the recipe. I also omitted the onion as my daughter wouldn't eat them. I used parsley, garlic powder, onion powder and pepper to season the flour then dredged and cooked everything on the stove in a can of beef stock, then thickened with the remaining flour as needed. It was YUMMMMMMM over the steaks and some baked potatoes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
this recipie was very good! it deserves 5 stars only u season the meat prior 2 flouring.i had no stock so i used 2 1/2 bullion cubes/2cwater.i don't prefer mushrooms so i layered w/gpepper, onion, minced garlic & parley. at the end i didn't wisk in the flour because the gravy was thick enough 4 me.i don't own a dutch oven or a iron skillet so i wrapped lots of foil around the handle of my non stick pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States