Sorta Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Good basic recipe..but I also added spices to the dredging flour(as others have) then 2 tblsp of Kitchen Bouquet in the broth(makes it a darker broth/gravy) with a tblsp of liquid smoke, as well as an extra can of beef broth...then I divided a bag of frozen mixed veggies(peas, corn, carrots, beans), with the onion layers...YUMMO ! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWINWI
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
My family REALLY loved this recipe! Its a comfort food that will stay in my recipe box. I didn't need as much flour as called for. I would like to make this in the slow cooker next time. I used beef broth because we like the flavor and used some beef gravy mix that I make (from the Make a Mix book). The gravy mix added quite a bit of flavor in my opinion. I also added a splash of soy sauce. I feel this is a kid friendly recipe and my kids, grandkids would eat this in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Council, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Easy and Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Made as directed and the cube steaks were fork tender with decent flavor. Will probably make again as this was really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I made this because I had some beef that was a bit too tough. I wanted a recipe that required a slower/longer cooking time. So I gave this a try. Even though I did not use cube steak, the recipe turned out to be all I expected and more. It was very good. Ill make it again in a few days and I will be using the called for cube steak and expect it will be even better. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
We really liked this one! The meat was tender and flavorful! The fam doesn't care much for Onions so I substituted 1 package Onion soup mix and 1/3 cup cooking Sherry. I thought it was a little salty but my husband thought it was perfect. (Next time I'll use 1/4 cup) Even the kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This one was fork tender, but I had a couple of issues. First, I too added seasoning to the flour. Salt, pepper, garlic and onion powder. I was a little concerned when I put it all in my dutch oven that the broth wasn't completely coving the meat. I put it in at 350 for the alloted time and when I pulled it out almost all the broth had evaporated. If I did this again I would completely cover my meat and onions with the broth and turn the oven way down to maybe 300. 350 for 2 hours is a long time. My oven temp is spot on and I use very good enamel pots. I was able to salvage the gravy by adding the rest of my box of beef broth and heating it up. I had no issue with whisking the leftover flour into my pot and getting it to thicken without lumps. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
We all really liked this. I added spices to the flour before I dredged the steaks. And like other reviewers, I used beefy onion soup mix and brown gravy mix with about 2 cups of water. The steaks were fork-tender and the gravy was already made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Very good and easy!! I made this with venison and my husband said it was his favorite way to eat venison. Big compliment coming from my hunter husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made these in the crockpot, like a previous post suggested. Added a couple chopped cloves of garlic, a small can of sliced mushrooms, and some garlic salt, onion powder, & black pepper. I used cornstarch to make a gravy at the end of cooking. Delicious!!! Cube steaks were so tender they were falling apart. Great gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States