Sorta Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I hate to be in the minority, but we just didn't care for this. The first couple of bites were great and then it was "how do I finish this". My husband who usually will eat anything without complaint said we could get rid of this recipe. Maybe we're just not cube steak people. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Fantastic, easy dish. Although it does cook quite a while, the prep work is so minimal and the food is so good, this has quickly become a family favorite. We make it with beef tips and the meat just falls apart. I will be making this for years to come. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Really good. Husband liked a lot and said it warm comfort food. I added s+p and a little garlic powder. Other than that, just followed the recipe. Very easy and very good. Tasted great with mashed potatoes. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
We loved this recipe! Instead of 2 cups beef broth, I used one 10.5 oz can of beef consomme soup and made up the rest with water. The gravy turned out a beautiful, deep brown with a perfect consistency. The cubed steaks were fork tender after 1-1/2 hours. I served with mashed potatoes, steamed carrots, and hot yeast rolls. Thank you Nanci for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Yes, yes, yes! These are soooo good. Nice and warm and homey feeling. I only use 4 cube steaks, dry onion soup mix instead of the onion (4 yr. old won't touch them), and add mushrooms. All the other recipes I'd found called for mixing ground meat with bread crumbs, then frying, etc. I call those meatloaves, not salisbury steak..lol. Thank you, Nanci, for such a great comforting recipe. *Update* : I've found that seasoning the steaks before you dredge them in flour makes them even better. I just use salt, pepper, and garlic powder, but you could use whatever you like. I have also started thickening the broth with a cornstarch/water mixture. That way, you definitely don't get any lumps from the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
Awesome! Steak was so tender you could cut it with a fork! The gravy was also really good and this went great with mashed potatoes. This is now my husband's favorite, and it was easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTWhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Vermont, USA
Living In: White River Junction, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Where I come from we simple call this cubed steak and gravy and it is always a hit. my husband and kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I used venision cube steak and couldn't tell the difference! This was great. I cooked it for only 1 hour in a Dutch oven in the oven. I made more gravy using a mixture of chicken and beef broth and extra flour in the drippings. My family loved it - this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
this is REALLY good the meat is soooo tender will fix again thanks SO SO GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This recipe is good, it is just not fantastic or anything. I ended up adding more broth at the end so there would be more of the gravy. I also added salt, pepper, and garlic because I thought it was lacking something. I'll probably make it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachakno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Priest River, Idaho, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States