Sorta Salisbury Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This recipe smelled so good cooking and the first few bites were great, then the Worcestershire sauce started overpowering the dish. I would make this again, but cut the Worcestershire sauce back to maybe one teaspoon, or not use it at all. All in all, it was an easy dish to make and the meat was fork tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Even my kids who NEVER eat meat enjoyed this! Served with instant mashed potatoes. So easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I really wanted this to turn out, and it didn't. My husband who is the human garbage can took one bite and said he'd eat no more. I think it was the texture of the meat. We will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I never realized cube steak coud be this good! What a wonderful recipe! Thank you so much Nanci. I did add 3 teaspoons of minced garlic (we love it)but that's it. Very easy to follow, and we were amazed you CAN cut it with a fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groveland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seabrook, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This turned out really well, tender meat and went well with noodles. My kids raved about it and had seconds. I did add some chopped garlic, it tasted terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
years ago my former mother-in-law gave me her recipe for "swiss steak" which was similar to this one. her recipe called for dredging both the beef & onions in flour (which i did). note: remember to scrape up all those brown crunchies in your pot after frying the cubed steak. these leftover meat bits are an essential part to making a good gravy. thanks nanci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I hate to be in the minority, but we just didn't care for this. The first couple of bites were great and then it was "how do I finish this". My husband who usually will eat anything without complaint said we could get rid of this recipe. Maybe we're just not cube steak people. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Fantastic, easy dish. Although it does cook quite a while, the prep work is so minimal and the food is so good, this has quickly become a family favorite. We make it with beef tips and the meat just falls apart. I will be making this for years to come. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: The Colony, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Really good. Husband liked a lot and said it warm comfort food. I added s+p and a little garlic powder. Other than that, just followed the recipe. Very easy and very good. Tasted great with mashed potatoes. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
We loved this recipe! Instead of 2 cups beef broth, I used one 10.5 oz can of beef consomme soup and made up the rest with water. The gravy turned out a beautiful, deep brown with a perfect consistency. The cubed steaks were fork tender after 1-1/2 hours. I served with mashed potatoes, steamed carrots, and hot yeast rolls. Thank you Nanci for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Scrumptious Salisbury Steak in Mushroom Gravy

See how to make a classic Salisbury steak recipe.

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

See how to make simple, savory Salisbury steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States