Sophie's Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
Sophie'e Choice is my choice! I ran out of white sugar, and put in 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar. The brown sugar added a nice touch to it. I followed other advice, and squeezed some of the water out of the shredded zucchini before I added it. The bread (and dozen muffins I made) came out great! To make zucchini muffins from this recipe, just alter the baking time to 30mins. Test with a toothpick or wooden skewer, and if it comes out "clean" they're done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
425 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
I don't have two loaf pans, so I dumped all the batter into a bundt pan, cooked it for a little less than an hour...and it was amazing! I took the results to a family reunion and got raves. Made a dense and delicious bread. Held up well when slicing, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
358 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Great recipe...my husband and kids loved it. To make it go FASTER, I substituted 2c. Zucchini with 1c. Apple and 1c. Carrots...It's one way to get the kids to eat their vegtables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
My husband says this bread is the BEST! I changed a few things...Exchanged 1 C. Whole Wheat flour, Increased the cinnamon to 1 T., Decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 C., Increased the zucchini to 4 C. and Added 1 t. allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This bread is delicious! I love that this recipe uses 50% more zucchini than regular recipes. It creates a more hearty texture and my family gets a healthier sweet bread. I substituted 1/2 of the oil with applesauce and it was still wonderfully moist and dense. Highest recommendation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
This is the best recipe I have made for Zucchini Bread. I always need tasty ways to use up my "Giant" garden zucchini, but my husband usually doesn't like heavy quick breads. He really enjoyed this recipe. I like it exactly as is!! But, for a change up, I have added golden raisins instead of nuts and used 2 ts. cinnamon and 1 ts. apple pie spice (I was out of nutmeg) and made muffins...baking for 15 minutes. Great for a quick snack. Thank you Laura for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This is fantastic. Not only is it really, really good, but the house smells wonderful! I used a scant cup of oil (about 1TBSP less) than called for, added 1/4 tsp allspice, and used 1-1/2 c. of sugar. I baked it for 53 mins. in a bundt pan. It's very moist. I'm glad I didn't bake it any longer, or it'd have dried out. Next time, I'll check it after 50 minutes. Even the prebaked batter was yummy (hey, I was checking the sweetness level!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
very, very nice! My only change, or addition was a bit of nutmeg, and have to spray everything with non-stick spray..well, just because! It was nice and dense with zucchini, but also light in flavor, and held together wonderfully when sliced for the kids peanut butter sandwiches. Yummy! Got raves in this house. Printed, and added to the house recipe box, thanks Laura!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheridan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Excellent recipe! I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 2 cups all purpose flour, just for a richer flavor. The only zucchini bread recipe I'll ever use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasingu2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Plainville, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2001
This recipe turned out ok. It was a little more dense than what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 733) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States