Sophie's Shepherds Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Absolutely wonderful hearty comfort food,, The whole family was impressed, and it was the first time our little Texas family had tried an English style dish! Thanks Sophie!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
So wasn't expecting the great feedback! So thank you all very much! This really is a versatile recipe, and the great thing is that when you swap out the lamb mince for beef mince, you just change the name from shepherds pie to cottage pie :0) The mince base is also really great with a jacket potatoe or in a bowl with a piece of crusty bread. It's what our family calls a rib coater, great on cold nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Very liquidy but good - might pass on the baked beans next time in lieu of green beans, personal preference. Kids loved it (over and over again...made a LOT of food). Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
baked beans in it is genius. Its also awesome that it only takes 20 minutes to cook. Awesome recipe thank you for your amazing contribution to the world :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WINDYCITYBRED
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I made this for dinner tonight and my picky husband went for 3rds! Unheard of! However, I did not use ground lamb, $8.99 a pound was just too expensive so I used ground beef. That technically does not make it a shepherds pie I know, but it was delicious anyway. Other then that, I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Oh so good! Didn't look like it would be but it was amazing! I would have started the meat before the potatoes though as it took longer. I also used beef since I had it on hand, corn instead of carrots, added a little extra worcestershire sauce and used the IKEA meatball gravy mix. The whole family was quiet while gobbling it down. The 2 yr old came back after dinner to clean her plate and the picky 5 yr old asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickysmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Yeah, its shepherds pie, so its not the most exotic thing you can put on the table. But it is quick, easy, and one of the most flavorful shepherds pie I have had. I did use all "optional" ingredients to put as much flavor in as possible. Long story short - quick, easy, tasty. If the family doesn't like it let them cook for themselves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
First of all, YUMMY!! My family of 6 loved it. I thought there would be some leftover, but we ate it all. The family said, “This one is a keeper!” I had to make some changes, just because I did not have them available to at this time. I didn’t use lamb, not something I buy; also I didn’t have any fresh mushroom or a can of baked beans. I used pork and bean instead. I also made the mistake of using instant potatoes. I will defiantly use real mashed potatoes next time. EXCELENT PIE!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Very nice...lamb is the original Shepherd's pie...hence the word Shepherd...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States