Sophie's Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I loved this recipe. Tasted just like my grandma used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is also my mother's recipe; she used canned fruit filling (Solo brand or similar) to make raspberry, apricot, date, prune, and/or cherry kolaczki. With 4 kids in the house plus company, it was hard to keep any on hand during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Antosiak

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made these with banana yogurt for the filling and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
My Mom made these for us on the holiday's also. We used apricot, almond or cream cheese mixed with a little powered sugar for our filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I have been looking for a good receipe for this for a long time now. I tried it for Easter and EVERYONE loved it!! I will keep it for all times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelliav

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
My husband wanted cookies like his mother made for Christmas but we didn't have her recipe. I found these by the picture - thank goodness for pictures! The cookies were very easy to make. I made the second batch smaller than the first, 2" squares and they were a perfect size for Christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Great cookies! I cut the recipe in half and used strawberry and peach preserves. I let the dough chill for an hour before rolling and I used a pizza cutter to cut the dough into 2 inch squares which worked out perfectly. Parchment paper also came in handy here. I now have a recipe I can use to make these at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My boyfriend is Polish and I decided to surprise him with this recipe. While I rolled them a bit thick, the texture and flavor was just like he remembered from his childhood. Definitely will give them another try and measure before I cut, I have very high hopes of perfecting my kolackys with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I've been searching for a recipe that compares to the holiday cookies that my great grandmother made every year for our family's Christmas. Unfortunately, this was not even a close approximation. And these cookies are a bit of work, so to make a bad batch isn't fun. The only thing I can think (because I tried 3 other recipes) is that this one has TOO MUCH baking powder. If you want a flaky pastry that's going to rise, then this may be the recipe for you. I cut the cookies into squares and pinch two opposing corners together, and for that the amount of rising in this recipe amounted to sheer disaster. I gave two stars because the flavor of the dough wasn't bad, just not what I was looking for. I'll keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I also rolled this out very thin, but instead of squares, cut double the number of circles and layered pie filling between the circles, then crimped the edges with a fork. They baked about 22 minutes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States