Sophie's Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I tried this today after reading all the reviews. I eliminated the baking powder like everyone said and they came out perfect. I tried raspberry jelly in a few and they spread apart, so definitely they need the solo fillings! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This is AMAZING, thank you soo much, your grandmother is a nice lady:D, Really tasteful, and succualant. Thanks again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Oh, yes...THIS is the one you've been searching for. I get raves when I put these together for the holidays or just when I'm looking for something simple but elegant. Not too sweet, but just right. Like a few other comments, I used the canned paste type filling (Solo Brand), and rolled out the dough and cut in squares, and bring up two corners and do a little twist. Always a hit! Be sure to bring the recipe to your party, you'll get a lot of people who want you to share the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne Varvil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
LOVED this recipe! I put together gift baskets of cookies for Christmas, and these were definitely a hit. The only change I in the future when I make these (and oh yes, it will be happening) would be to only use 1/2 to MAYBE one teaspoon of baking powder. The amount of rise made it difficult to keep the cookies in the shape of the picture unless I really squished the tops together, and I didn't realize it until I pulled the first batch out of the oven. If anyone is looking for a variety, I found that blackberry jam was very yummy as well. Thank you for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I should have followed another reviewer suggestion and eliminate the baking powder. This was not what I remembered my polish grandmother to make. I made circles and used Solo apricot and poppyseed filling. I made sure I pinched the dough when I folded it over but, when baking they still seperated at the fold. I think this recipe is meant to be made with the apple filling since it is a puffy pastry. Although they tasted good I gave this three stars because the dough did not stay together and I wouldn't say this is an old recipe of true polish kolacky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These have a good taste but I must be doing something wrong because I could not get mine to stay pinched together and they kept coming out too puffy! Maybe without the baking powder they would be better, but too time consuming. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Very much like the authentic Polish "kolaczki". I made this for Christmas and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My family loved these cookies. We filled them with apricot, blueberry, and raspberry preserves. I followed the recipe exactly, but will try the suggestion to leave out the baking powder next time just to see how they are different. We will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Fantastic recipe! The taste is very buttery, which is as it should be. A few things that I've noted, now that I've been making this recipe for 3 years: 1) the dough is sooo buttery that it almost seems it isn't spreadable at first. As noted, you really should refrigerate it for 5 minutes first. I also refrigerate any that is waiting to be rolled. 2) I always double the recipe and use about 2 1/4 of the small cans of filling total to fill them. My favorite is apricot! 3) I cut with a 2" circle (kid's cup really) and then fold up like photo 1 above. You really have to press that edge close. 4) Flour, flour and flour when rolling, otherwise everything sticks. I lightly flour the surface and my rolling pin. 5) working 2 pans at a time in a convection oven, I can work steadily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Can't be an old recipe, we did't use Cream Cheese in Poland. We use a yeast-based dough because these aren't cookies, they are pastries. Even here in chicago, all the polish bakeries use yeast-based pastries. Ive tried the cream cheese based recipes and they just dont make the grade. While this is a nice cookie, it cant duplicate the real Kolaczki's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States