Sophie's Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
You are a life saver! I have been looking all over for this recipe. I lost mine that I had gotten from my grandma (who came from Poland also)and when she was still with us she would make them for Christmas every year. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Awesome recipe! Best kolacky I ever had! I used strawberry jam instead of the apple pie filling. I made these cookies one Saturday evening and by Sunday morning they were all gone. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
My husband wanted cookies like his mother made for Christmas but we didn't have her recipe. I found these by the picture - thank goodness for pictures! The cookies were very easy to make. I made the second batch smaller than the first, 2" squares and they were a perfect size for Christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I have been looking for a good receipe for this for a long time now. I tried it for Easter and EVERYONE loved it!! I will keep it for all times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelliav

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Thank you so much for this recipe! This was a recipe that my mom and my uncle grew up with! We sent these for a perfect gift to my uncle for Christmas. The dough is delicious! We used plum and poppyseed filling in the kolacky like my grandma used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My boyfriend is Polish and I decided to surprise him with this recipe. While I rolled them a bit thick, the texture and flavor was just like he remembered from his childhood. Definitely will give them another try and measure before I cut, I have very high hopes of perfecting my kolackys with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Great cookies! I cut the recipe in half and used strawberry and peach preserves. I let the dough chill for an hour before rolling and I used a pizza cutter to cut the dough into 2 inch squares which worked out perfectly. Parchment paper also came in handy here. I now have a recipe I can use to make these at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I made this for our Christmas baskets and it was great- rave reviews! I made a couple of changes that I think worked out better; I rolled out the dough to 1/16" and cut into squares. Then I filled w/ the apple and piched into little pockets. At the end I rolled into a cinnamon/sugar mix. YES!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Fast, simple, light and favorful! I suggest you double the recipe and have a variety of fillings available as these disappear fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
My Mom made these for us on the holiday's also. We used apricot, almond or cream cheese mixed with a little powered sugar for our filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States