Sophie's Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
you simply cannot improve upon eastern pastry. Being Polish, I would give this 10 stars if I could..However, I have a few changes and suggestions. Pie filling is not thick enough or have strong enough taste for kolachy, so I use paste. It comes in many flavors and would make a big difference for those who didn't like this recipe. Almond, raspberry, cherry and apricot paste are favorites at my house. I also wonder if they used margerine instead of butter which make a big difference. I also did not use the baking powder as I don't want them to rise. I don't lightly dust with powdered sugar-I sift it on heavily as there is little sugar in the recipe. The recipe says it serves 18 but keep it away from the other 17 as you will want them all for yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Great cookies! I cut the recipe in half and used strawberry and peach preserves. I let the dough chill for an hour before rolling and I used a pizza cutter to cut the dough into 2 inch squares which worked out perfectly. Parchment paper also came in handy here. I now have a recipe I can use to make these at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
Thank you so much for this recipe! This was a recipe that my mom and my uncle grew up with! We sent these for a perfect gift to my uncle for Christmas. The dough is delicious! We used plum and poppyseed filling in the kolacky like my grandma used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
You are a life saver! I have been looking all over for this recipe. I lost mine that I had gotten from my grandma (who came from Poland also)and when she was still with us she would make them for Christmas every year. Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
I made this for our Christmas baskets and it was great- rave reviews! I made a couple of changes that I think worked out better; I rolled out the dough to 1/16" and cut into squares. Then I filled w/ the apple and piched into little pockets. At the end I rolled into a cinnamon/sugar mix. YES!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I've been searching for a recipe that compares to the holiday cookies that my great grandmother made every year for our family's Christmas. Unfortunately, this was not even a close approximation. And these cookies are a bit of work, so to make a bad batch isn't fun. The only thing I can think (because I tried 3 other recipes) is that this one has TOO MUCH baking powder. If you want a flaky pastry that's going to rise, then this may be the recipe for you. I cut the cookies into squares and pinch two opposing corners together, and for that the amount of rising in this recipe amounted to sheer disaster. I gave two stars because the flavor of the dough wasn't bad, just not what I was looking for. I'll keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
EVERYONE LOVED THEM...THEY ARE NOT TOO SWEET BUT JUST RIGHT.A TRUE CROWD PLEASER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
The dough was very easy to work with not sticky or hard like I find with so many other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
Fast, simple, light and favorful! I suggest you double the recipe and have a variety of fillings available as these disappear fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Awesome recipe! Best kolacky I ever had! I used strawberry jam instead of the apple pie filling. I made these cookies one Saturday evening and by Sunday morning they were all gone. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jam Kolaches

These little Polish cookies can be filled with your favorite jam.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States