Sophie's Kolacky Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I loved this recipe. Tasted just like my grandma used to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is also my mother's recipe; she used canned fruit filling (Solo brand or similar) to make raspberry, apricot, date, prune, and/or cherry kolaczki. With 4 kids in the house plus company, it was hard to keep any on hand during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Antosiak

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made these with banana yogurt for the filling and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
My Mom made these for us on the holiday's also. We used apricot, almond or cream cheese mixed with a little powered sugar for our filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I have been looking for a good receipe for this for a long time now. I tried it for Easter and EVERYONE loved it!! I will keep it for all times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelliav

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
My husband wanted cookies like his mother made for Christmas but we didn't have her recipe. I found these by the picture - thank goodness for pictures! The cookies were very easy to make. I made the second batch smaller than the first, 2" squares and they were a perfect size for Christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Great cookies! I cut the recipe in half and used strawberry and peach preserves. I let the dough chill for an hour before rolling and I used a pizza cutter to cut the dough into 2 inch squares which worked out perfectly. Parchment paper also came in handy here. I now have a recipe I can use to make these at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
My boyfriend is Polish and I decided to surprise him with this recipe. While I rolled them a bit thick, the texture and flavor was just like he remembered from his childhood. Definitely will give them another try and measure before I cut, I have very high hopes of perfecting my kolackys with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I've been searching for a recipe that compares to the holiday cookies that my great grandmother made every year for our family's Christmas. Unfortunately, this was not even a close approximation. And these cookies are a bit of work, so to make a bad batch isn't fun. The only thing I can think (because I tried 3 other recipes) is that this one has TOO MUCH baking powder. If you want a flaky pastry that's going to rise, then this may be the recipe for you. I cut the cookies into squares and pinch two opposing corners together, and for that the amount of rising in this recipe amounted to sheer disaster. I gave two stars because the flavor of the dough wasn't bad, just not what I was looking for. I'll keep trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I also rolled this out very thin, but instead of squares, cut double the number of circles and layered pie filling between the circles, then crimped the edges with a fork. They baked about 22 minutes. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Focaccia

See how to make a light Italian yeast bread with delightful dimples.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Kraut Bierocks

Try this authentic German meat-filled pastry for a light dinner or hearty snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States