Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
I made these the other day and they turned out great. I hate to see how a person such as "kmmishler" down there can mess up the rating for this. I also suppose her entire family has gone into cardiac arrest after eating all of the fat that she is supposed to be FRYING FOOD IN and NOT mixing it in the dough. (along w/ the 7 and counting that considered her helpful)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
The 8 cups of shortening are for frying. Only 2 tablespoons actually go into the sopapillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
Need to verify ingredients. Hard to believe it takes 8 cups of shortening to make 32 Sopapillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Tried the recipe with both honey and the cinnamon sugar. Both myself and the kids preferred the cinnamon sugar. The recipe gave us a different type of dessert. The dough was easy to work with and quick to fry. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIRED1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ogden, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
I have not made this recipe as yet but have had these in resturants and love them, especiaslly with honey. Can't wait to make them myself. BJ Edwards Chaparral,N.M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
WOW! I made these as a snack for my 5 year old and I tonight, so I cut the recipe in half, and we still didn't finish them. Not eating them up has nothing to do with taste, however. These are fantastic! I will definately have to make these up next time I have company. They are so easy to make, and so good! I will without a doubt be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Made these for the 1st time at a party recently and they flew off the plate - wonderful fresh, and hot, and it was so incredibly easy!! I did have to add some extra water to make it dough-y enough - but you can tell how much water you need as you go along. Go by feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Melt in your mouth! Easy too. We all just loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Whitson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spruce Pine, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Nebo, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
My kids loved these, although they would probably eat their vegetables if I coated them in enough cinnamon sugar. My Mexican MIL got a good laugh out of them, however. Maybe I added too much water or my oil was too hot, but the texture was not very appealing. I will probably try them again before I swallow my pride and get her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Excellent recipe! Perfect low cost dessert for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States