Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2001
I have not made this recipe as yet but have had these in resturants and love them, especiaslly with honey. Can't wait to make them myself. BJ Edwards Chaparral,N.M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Made these for the 1st time at a party recently and they flew off the plate - wonderful fresh, and hot, and it was so incredibly easy!! I did have to add some extra water to make it dough-y enough - but you can tell how much water you need as you go along. Go by feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
Excellent recipe! Perfect low cost dessert for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
WOW! I made these as a snack for my 5 year old and I tonight, so I cut the recipe in half, and we still didn't finish them. Not eating them up has nothing to do with taste, however. These are fantastic! I will definately have to make these up next time I have company. They are so easy to make, and so good! I will without a doubt be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
These were really,really good. I made them for few friends coming over. I made 2 different kinds, one was with cinnisugar and the other with a syrup made of 2 cups water, 1 cups sugar, and some orange juice and zest. The syrup will be done when it is a bit thicker, or not as watery as is was, or at least after it reached rapid boiling stage. The sopapillas with this syrup tasted like an arabic fried cookie dipped in the same syrup. Thanx for sumbitting this recipe Ellin. It was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
The 8 cups of shortening are for frying. Only 2 tablespoons actually go into the sopapillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Easy and yummy!!! 1/2 the recipe is plenty for a family of four. I even messed up and added too much water but still came out good. 8 cups shortening is a reasonable amount to use for frying. Also depends on what you fry in...I used an electric skillet and since I made 1/2 the recipe I also cut shortening to 4 cups worked fine!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Melt in your mouth! Easy too. We all just loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Whitson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spruce Pine, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Nebo, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Great Recipe!The 8 cups of shortening are for frying...not part of the actual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Just like grandma's!!. Only one small detail. They will taste much better if lard is used instead of shortening. Shortening was never used back in the days. Also in regard to K Misher, she fail to read that the 8 cups of shortening was to fry them. My grand ma will only use oil to fry. Good day all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States