Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I really liked them I did put the dough in the fridge about an hour before frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Absolutely wonderful! I think this is the same recipe my grandmother used when I was little. It poofed perfectly - and, no, I didn't use 8c of shortening in the recipe, I used it to FRY the wedges. I added a bit of clove to this - Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seejanebabble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Just like grandma's!!. Only one small detail. They will taste much better if lard is used instead of shortening. Shortening was never used back in the days. Also in regard to K Misher, she fail to read that the 8 cups of shortening was to fry them. My grand ma will only use oil to fry. Good day all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Great Recipe!The 8 cups of shortening are for frying...not part of the actual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
These were really good although I'm still searching for a recipe as good as my Grandpa used to make. Perhaps it was just Grandpa's touch! Anyhow, these did turn out well for me. I read the reviews and some had commented that they weren't sweet enough - well they aren't supposed to be. Sopapillas can be eaten with a savory dish as well as sweetened up with honey, etc. Anyway, thanks for the post. Still working on perfecting my sopapillas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Melt in your mouth! Easy too. We all just loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Whitson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spruce Pine, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Nebo, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
These were ok, not sweet enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Easy and yummy!!! 1/2 the recipe is plenty for a family of four. I even messed up and added too much water but still came out good. 8 cups shortening is a reasonable amount to use for frying. Also depends on what you fry in...I used an electric skillet and since I made 1/2 the recipe I also cut shortening to 4 cups worked fine!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
The 8 cups of shortening are for frying. Only 2 tablespoons actually go into the sopapillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
My kids loved these, although they would probably eat their vegetables if I coated them in enough cinnamon sugar. My Mexican MIL got a good laugh out of them, however. Maybe I added too much water or my oil was too hot, but the texture was not very appealing. I will probably try them again before I swallow my pride and get her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States