Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Very mild, light dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I GAVE 3 STARS, I HAVE MADE 3 DIFFERENT TIMES AND ALL 3 TIMES THEY DO NOT PUFF UP, COMES OUT LOOKING LIKE FRIED FLAT BREAD, LOL, ANY SUGGESTIONS TO MAKE THEM PUFF UP? THEY STILL TASTE GOOD JUST NOT GETTING THE PUFF,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Lake, Texas, USA
Living In: Bruni, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Took these to work and they really went fast.. next time I make them I will add a bit more water to my dough and try to roll them out thiner.. after frying them seemed a bit bready.. but with cinnamon and sugar on them they were pretty popular..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
don't use the sugar to coat it, use these as a dipper for home made split pea soup... yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I made this for an after school snack for my 4 kids. They LOVED it! It was easy and quick to make. I cut the recipe in half and I played it by ear on the water (i had to add more). Great recipe. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Tastes great with whipped honey butter too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Sopaipillas are a very versatile bread. I am from New Mexico and the recipe displayed here we call bunuelos. Sopaipillas are used for savory foods and are usually stuffed with cooked pinto beans, chile and various other New Mexican foods. Sopaipillas have even been stuffed with scrambled eggs!! Sometimes when used as a dessert bread, we apply honey. YUM YUM!!! I live in the UK now but I still miss the wonderful flavors of New Mexico.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
My family loves Sopapillas served with honey instead of sugar. This recipe is a great addition to any meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Panola, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very DELICIOUS recipe!! the only thing i did diferently was that i let the doug sit for 20 minutes before frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
The sopapilla is a New Mexican invention, most likely a variation on old style Navajo fry bread. And it's more of a bread to eat with meals than a dessert as presented here. Lose the cinnamon and sugar coating and use the sopapilla like a tortilla (i.e., like a spoon) when eating chili or a bowl of refrieds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

County Fair KOOL-AID Drop Donuts

These sweet, crispy treats are more fun than a turn on the Tilt-A-Whirl.

How to Make Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how to make easy homemade flour tortillas in no time.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States