Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Very good recipe. I like to try different recipes. if you want them to puff up hold them under the oil in a fryer or a deep pan. and roll your masa a little thicker so they will be soft. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Depending on your personal preference, you can roll your masa a little thicker for a softer sopapilla. I have done round, square and triangle shaped, and I think the triangles puff up the best. If they dont puff the way you want or are lopsided, try rolling a little thinner, or immediately flipping each one seeral times once it hits the oil. It took me a few tries to get mine the way my family likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
These were the best sopapillas I have ever eaten! I rolled out my first one too thin (what can I say...I'm an over-achiever LOL) but then I added two balls together, rolled them out to about 1/8", cut them into thirds & turned them over continously while frying. They had HUGE air pockets in them...perfect for filling w/ honey mixed w/ just a bit of real maple syrup. FANTASTIC! I froze some of the balls on a cookie sheet & then put them in a freezer bag to pull out when wanted. Thanks Xenia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Update: I think the secret is in how hot the oil is. I have been trying and trying to get puffy sopapillas. I finally settled on heating the oil about 10 min. before frying them. They puff a little bit now, so I guess that is as good as it gets! Original review: My sopapillas always turn out flat and don't puff. Anyone have any suggestions? I am still looking for that amazing sopapilla recipe that makes PUFFS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
mmm came out pretty darn good! I've been looking for a Sopapilla recipe for a few months now. My favortie Mexican returant used to serve these nice puffy ones, but have since changed them to something totally different. For the longest time I havent been able to duplicate them at home. This is the closest I've gotten! The key is to make sure your oil is hot enough to get them to puff just right! I also made a dipping sauce for them, simialr to what I had at my favorite Mexican resturant. I mixed water and some powdered sugar, let is simmer for a few minutes, and then turn off the heat and add a few tablespoons of butter. Let me tell you, this is EXACTLY what Ive been searching for...THANKS A TON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
These were tasty...like elephant ears. If you cut the rolled dough into triangles as instructed they turn out quite small and makes the process more time-consuming, so I sliced them in half instead. Also these need to be eaten right away. I made them for a party and made the mistake of storing them in an air-tight container. By the time they were served they had flattened and lost their crispiness. They initially had bubbled up nicely (make sure your oil is very hot.) But the samples my husband got right out of the pan were a hit! I'll make again when I have the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
These were a breeze to make and my family LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Very delicious and plenty of them. I read some of the reviews regarding an issue with them coming out flat. The first few I made were flat but I added more oil and that seemed to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
These are just like restaurant quality sopapillas! I couldn't believe how easy they were to make! I just sifted the ingredients into my mixer bowl, cut in the shortening and then used the dough hook while adding the water. I had to add maybe an extra Tbsp or two of water. I made the mix into 8 balls then rolled them and cut into quarters. I fried them in about 3 inches of oil that was exactly 375 degrees and they turned out fantastic! Super puffy and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I've been looking for a recipe that is easy to make and puffs up nicely. I found it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States