Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
Very good recipe. I like to try different recipes. if you want them to puff up hold them under the oil in a fryer or a deep pan. and roll your masa a little thicker so they will be soft. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
These were a breeze to make and my family LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
I was looking for a fast, easy to make recipe and then I found this one. I chose it because there were only a few ingredients. Even after modifying the size slightly they were TERRIFIC! Size does matter ;) The way I remembered them was square so, I didn't roll them into a circle and cut into triangles. THANKS A MILLION! muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
Very tastey! Try them with honey butter that was submitted by Shannon. Dangerously delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2004
These were good. I think that they were a little bit tough, but still very good. I added a little cinnamon and some honey. Ice cream goes well with it as well. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
Depending on your personal preference, you can roll your masa a little thicker for a softer sopapilla. I have done round, square and triangle shaped, and I think the triangles puff up the best. If they dont puff the way you want or are lopsided, try rolling a little thinner, or immediately flipping each one seeral times once it hits the oil. It took me a few tries to get mine the way my family likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
mmm came out pretty darn good! I've been looking for a Sopapilla recipe for a few months now. My favortie Mexican returant used to serve these nice puffy ones, but have since changed them to something totally different. For the longest time I havent been able to duplicate them at home. This is the closest I've gotten! The key is to make sure your oil is hot enough to get them to puff just right! I also made a dipping sauce for them, simialr to what I had at my favorite Mexican resturant. I mixed water and some powdered sugar, let is simmer for a few minutes, and then turn off the heat and add a few tablespoons of butter. Let me tell you, this is EXACTLY what Ive been searching for...THANKS A TON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malaga, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Really easy to make! We eat them with cinnamon sugar and a little honey drizzled on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
These turned out wonderful. I made too many and they do not keep well, however. I would recoomend that you only make as many as you want. I took them out of the oil, shook them in a zipper bag with cinnamon and sugar and served them warm with honey. You could also omit the cinnamon and sugar and dust them with powdered sugar and serve with honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Delicious. They come out crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside and not the least bit greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States