Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by talley
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Excellent recipe. I added cinnamon/sugar after removing them fom the fryer and my husband filled them with vanilla ice cream. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrissy_USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Absolutely GOOD!!! very easy. Got mine to brown a little better by heating the cooking oil to 390 degrees F & then enjoyed them with honey drizzled over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy_USA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
the mixture came out too dry. i raised it to a full cup. and i used milk instead of water. other than that, this is a great recipe. also, cutting in 4ths is ok for sweet sopas, i like mine with savoy foods and if you cut them in half they poof. then you can cut them open and stuff them with food. meat,cheese,beans,rice,lettuse,tomato,salsa, sour cream... etc its like a mexican pita pocket xD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny Friend

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
These did not turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
too crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
These were really good... I served mine with a scoop of ice cream, and a drizzle of sweetened condensed milk and chocolate syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Innominate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
These were really good sopapillas! GREAT with HONEY! I had to cook them a little longer but they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sparks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Easy enough! Don't under/overestimate your 1/4" - results not good. By the 3rd round in the pan, we had them puffing nicely! As another user noted, temperature of oil is very necessary for success. Good recipe, try eating warm with Hershey's Chocolate Syrup, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Coskey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
These turned out great! They fluffed up nicely and even tasted delicious for days after. I think the secret is how hot the oil gets because I made them before and they didn't fluff up and nearly burnt. This time I didn't let the oil get so hot and they cooked much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Nichols
Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
taste exactly like they should. you don't have to hold them under the oil if the oil is the right temp. only fold them if you want a more crispy one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bryan, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States