Sopapillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
love them as is, but did some experimenting, and stuffed them prior to cooking with cheese, yum... also put some chili pepper flakes in the dough and put some precooked taco meat and cheese in them, double yum. at them the traditional way as well, with honey butter, delish!!! on the stuffed ones i left them in the balls and flattened them out and stuffed them...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
My kids and I had fun making these together. Next time I'll make them a little larger, and I wouldn't recommend them warmed up the next day - but I don't know that any sopapillas are good reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Fabulous! I've tried making them before, but always had issues with them puffing up properly or becoming little more than over fried dough. This recipe worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
These are great! I rolled them in cinnamon sugar & topped with a honey drizzle & homeade whip cream! The only thing that keeps this recipe from being perfect is that they could be a little lighter/fluffier. Almost 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These were very good! When you roll out the dough before placing it into the hot oil...I found that if you keep them thicker, they are fluffier and better tasting. Also, wait a few minutes before eating them...they seem softer! Super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
FANTASTIC!! My Boyfriend ate 4 in one sitting and he usually doesn't like a lot of sweets! They were so good, his sister asked me for the recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Great recipe! Tasted just like the ones I use to get from resturants in AZ. We were even able to use cookie cutters to make shapes for the kids and they still had that beatiful puff, dip them in warm honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Photo by talley
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Excellent recipe. I added cinnamon/sugar after removing them fom the fryer and my husband filled them with vanilla ice cream. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by talley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrissy_USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Absolutely GOOD!!! very easy. Got mine to brown a little better by heating the cooking oil to 390 degrees F & then enjoyed them with honey drizzled over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy_USA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
the mixture came out too dry. i raised it to a full cup. and i used milk instead of water. other than that, this is a great recipe. also, cutting in 4ths is ok for sweet sopas, i like mine with savoy foods and if you cut them in half they poof. then you can cut them open and stuff them with food. meat,cheese,beans,rice,lettuse,tomato,salsa, sour cream... etc its like a mexican pita pocket xD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Homemade Flour Tortillas

See how easy it is to make your own homemade flour tortillas.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States