Sopapilla Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I have been making this dessert for awhile now and it is honestly the best dessert in the world! Every single time I make it everyone asks for the recipe. The only thing I do differently is I mix the melted butter, cinnamon and sugar before pouring on top of the dessert. It make a nice glaze. You should 100% make this. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This recipe is awesome. I too wondered if it was too much butter, and because I was so freaked out, I reserved about 2 T of it (why bother at that point!). So I ended up using about 6T melted butter and all of the sugar/cinn mix (that seemed like a lot too) and it came out awesome. I didn't have any issues spreading the cream cheese when I beat it really well like others suggested. I am a big fan of cream cheese, and I wouldn't suggest doubling the filling. As long as you really whip it up, it's more than enough. Also, flour your rolling pin before you roll the dough out. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
Simple and delicious. Defiantly worth making. I even used light cream cheese and reduced fat crescent rolls and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macybay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisa, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Excellent recipe! Everyone loved it...No need to double the filling unless you WANT to...If you whip the cream cheese and sugar long enough, you will have plenty of filling to to spread and it spreads easily also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
very good! I would add just a little more butter though because it does crisp up a bit on top. Just want to add that this is not a dessert to try to make diet friendly, just enjoy every calorie! I use real butter also. I am making this for a co-workers birthday as requested again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This was easy and delicious. I flattened out crescent rolls on a cutting board and flipped it over the 9x 13 to put in place easily. Also, I added the cinnamon and sugar to the butter. That way I could evenly pour over the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is a family favorite and is expected at Thanksgiving and Christmas on the table. At Thanksgiving I give it a twist by using 2 8-ounce packages cream cheese, add 1/2 cup additional sugar, 1 can pureed pumpkin and 1 beaten egg to the filling. It turns out great every time. At Christmas, I add 1 cup eggnog, I also use 2 8-ounce packages cream cheese, and 1 teaspoon rum extract. Instead of the cinnamon added to the sugar, I use nutmeg. The rest of the year, I just make the good ole original one but I always use 2 packages cream cheese and use 1 1/2 cups sugar instead of 1 as called for in the recipe filling. Really most times I use Splenda and no one knows the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Fairly easy to assemble and so worth it!!! I used a jelly roll pan which made light flatter bars but VERY GOOD. I rolled the crescent rolls out after sprinkling the area with powdered sugar. The filling was just enough for a thin layer instead of a thick heavy dessert bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
So good! Very rich, double the filling since I could not get it to spread very over the bottom. Cooked 40 min. So good! Only needed a small piece was so rick and good! Good warn or room temp will def. make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Instead of a cake version, I used the individual crescent rolls to creat a triangular pocket, piped the filling(which we added strawberries to) and sealed it, then upon taking it out, brushed butter on, sprinkled powdered sugar and served with a strawberry dipping sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Reed

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States