Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
WONDERFUL!! I don't know how this isn't in the top 20 recipes on the entire site. I can't believe I liked it so well because I'm not fond of crescent rolls in desserts that well. I used a glass 9x13 pan and just put the rolls in and spread them out. I spent just a few seconds to make sure the seams were together and the edges were not to thick. Then I poured the cream cheese mixture on top and spread it around. Adding the second layer of rolls was a teeny tiny bit harder but not much. I felt like I didn't get the seams pressed together well enough but during the baking they spread together so it was fine. Don't feel like you have to make it perfect because you are covering the top in the cinn/sugar mix. This is fabulous. I made it exactly as called for except I only used about 1/2 as much honey as called for at first. I tasted it and added more and yum. Use the full amount. I had to bake it longer than 30 minutes and I was getting worried. It looked way too brown for comfort but the middle was still a tad gooey. I kept it in though and it was in no way overdone. So cook it until the center is done....you won't burn it. Everyone who ate it wanted more and asked for the recipe. Try it and I promise it will become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
643 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I have been making this recipe for years, the only difference in the recipe I use is, it doesn't call for honey. This recipe is soooo easy, delicious and inexpensive to make. I make it for Charity bake sales and double to recipe to make several 8x8 pans that are ALWAYS the first to go at the sales. A true "go to" recipe anytime you have a gathering or function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
527 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIKI810

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunshynGoddess
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Ok. This is, undoubtedly, the most outstanding-delicious-amazing-wonderful dessert recipe I have EVER tried. Unbelievable. If you don't rush right out and pick up the ingredients for this, you are missing out ON LIFE! I have tasted a lot of desserts, I have tried a million recipes, but I can honestly say (and my family will agree) that this is the most wonderful dessert ever. It was made by the Gods. You know how every recipe you read on Allrecipes.com has reviewers improving upon the recipe in some way? Well you won't see that with this recipe. Nope. It would be absolutely IMPOSSIBLE to improve on this one in ANY way. It's perfect. Sent from heaven. And in addition to the perfect flavor is the fact that it LOOKS beautiful, even if you throw the crescent rolls in sloppily (like I did). It's also so unbelievably easy to make that I am ASHAMED I didn't know about this sooner because it would have saved me a lot of sweat and stress while trying to throw something together for potlucks. All I can ask is that you not share the recipe with anyone. It's so good it should be a secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
439 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshynGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Made this for a potluck and what a hit! The top was crunchy and the center creamy & sweet. I didn't have Mexican vanilla so I yelled "ole" when I poured in my regular vanilla extract. I cut it into much smaller pieces though...little bites were a better choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERIROSE22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This recipe is always a crowd pleaser. In fact, my son requested that I make this for his 16th birthday last week, and his friends loved it. I use 3 packages of cream cheese and 1 1/2 cups sugar to make the filling a little thicker. And for the cinnamon sugar mixture I use 1/2 cup sugar and 2 tsp. cinnamon. Using Mexican vanilla is what sets this apart, so don't skimp on it! For our bunch, we did skip the honey because this dessert is fine without it. The refrigerated leftovers, if you have any, are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZACHS_MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
My husband took this to work for a "Mexican Day" lunch. They loved it- gone in no time at all. I took advise of others and added the 3rd cream cheese, reduced the topping sugar by 1/2, brushed on the butter, pre-baked the bottom crust for 7 minutes and increased total baking time to 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
THIS RECIPE IS THE GREATEST!!! IT IS EASY TO PREPARE AND FAIRLY INEXPENSIVE. I TOOK TWO 9 X 13 PANS TO WORK YESTERDAY AND IT WAS GONE IN 45 MINUTES. I GAVE OUT 15 COPIES OF THE RECIPE. MAKES THE HOUSE SMELL WONDERFUL. TODAY, COWORKERS ASKED IF I HAD PREPARED MORE FOR TODAY. GREAT RECIPE TO MAKE WITH KIDS. IF YOU LIKE SWEETS AND YOU ARE GOING TO PREPARE A RECIPE FROM THIS SITE....PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE TRY THIS ONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I got so many rave reviews for this one! The only thing I might do differently is a little less sugar in with the cream cheese. It was a bit too sweet for my taste. But other than that it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
Guess what! Pillsbury makes "crescent seamless rolls"....all the goodness of crescent rolls in one complete sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit with all. I thought the topping was a little to sweet so next time I make it, I will use 1/2 cup sugar instead of the 3/4 cup. So great for so little time and it was great warm or cold. My hubsand likes it warmed up in the microwave for about 20 sec. Thanks CandelB for a new fav at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States