Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I used the given measures. The only change I made to the ingredient list was pure vanilla extract - I do not have Mexican vanilla. I do not own a rolling pin, so I simply laid the dough in the pan and pinched the seams together. I did the same for the top layer of dough. This worked well. Also, the mixture of butter, sugar and cinnamon turned out more like a paste/frosting, so instead of dotting it on top, I spread it over the entire top layer of dough. When the pie finished baking, some of the butter had pooled, so, using pot holders, I lifted the pan and tipped it in all directions until the butter was displaced and soaked up. I thoroughly enjoyed this dessert. The only change I want to make next time I bake this is bake the bottom layer of dough for about 5 minutes, then follow the recipe as given. Though I enjoyed eating this, the bottom layer of dough seemed like it never cooked. It looked uncooked after having put a piece on my plate, and I could taste that specifically the bottom layer was not cooked. If you want a cold treat, I recommend putting this in the fridge after having cooled, or cutting into squares then putting in the freezer after having cooled. I made this for my parents and husband several days ago, and they all said it was delicious. Today my husband took some leftover pieces of the dessert to work to share with his co-workers. I haven't heard their opinions yet, though someone already asked my husband for the recipe. This recipe will not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
Can't lee our hands off these little gems once they come out of the oven ! Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jada1979

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
So easy and delicious! If you like cream cheese based desserts, this is a must try. I halved the recipe which worked perfect in a 8x8 pan, with one can of crescent rolls split in half between the bottom and the top. And the crescents happened to be the reduced fat type...but couldn't tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rebeccaR
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I've made this twice now and both times turned out delish! The second time I didn't bother rolling out the crescents, it was just extra work since it cooks together anyway! Love this recipe for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This is so yummy!!! Easy to make and never leftovers. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Palka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Every time I cook this, my husband loves it. I took it to Ladies' Meeting at church tonight and it got rave reviews. It's easy, fast, inexpensive, and, best of all, DELICIOUS!!!!! I haven't put the honey on it (I always forget) but it's sooooo sooo good! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Learn from my fail: make sure your cheese filling is very smooth and spreadable. Mine was still pretty cool when I attempted to spread it over the bottom dough, and it wouldn't spread. It tore holes in the dough, so I had to gently press it into place with my hands. The top layer of dough covered it, and you couldn't even tell in the finished product. This got more positive feedback than just about anything I have ever made for the family, and that is high praise, because I went out on a limb when I served this. Serving anything other than chocolate is taking your life in your own hands with our crowd! I will be making this one again....with a well-softened filling, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This was very easy and quite good. I think next time, I will incorporate some fruit salsa or a compote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Great recipe. I was looking for a Mexican dessert for an impromptu Mexican dinner at my house. I had the ingredients for the recipe on hand, it was easy/quick to fix and the outcome was a hit with my dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibe1cent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Loved it! Easy and good just as written. A pot luck favourite at my work. Just adjust for the level of sweetness you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIGGSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States