Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This recipe is great! I usually don't do the honey drizzle, and it is just as delicious without the extra sugar. I recently tried a fruity twist that was a hit - add lemon zest, lemon juice, cinnamon and sugar to the creamcheese mixture, and top the creamcheese with fresh blueberries before laying down the top crust. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Breaking it down - the preparation is very kid friendly so my girls were able to help out a lot and that's important to me. The recipe itself is very simple and the cost is about $6 to $8 for a 9x13 pan. It will make your house smell wonderful and it does not make a big mess. The bottom line to any recipe is the taste and this one delivers! This one will be in the bake-n-take party / event lineup. A true 5 star champ! *note* I did not use the honey so not sure what using it adds but it was fine without it. I may add it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I (tried to)follow this recipe exactly and it was awesome! Actually, I forgot the honey and it was still fantastic. I also used regular vanilla, because I could not find Mexican vanilla. I brought it to a Mexican themed potluck and it went fast, everyone loved it and wanted more. We topped it with whipped cream, ice cream would have gone well, too. I will make it again and try it with the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This recipe is amazing!! Definitely a great recipe to take to a barbecue or pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ImaFoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I loved this recipe, and I don't understand the negative reviews. I don't have what I would consider a sweet tooth, but I didn't find it too sweet or sugary in any way. Maybe some of the contributors didn't bake it enough? I did think the portions called for in the recipe were a little large, considering the ingredients. I also thought the recipe made too much, so I cut it in half. I used a 9" x 9" Pyrex dish that I had lightly buttered and pressed half the dough triangles into it. Then I spread the cream cheese mixture over that and placed the other dough triangles (that I had pressed into a square on a cutting board) on top. For the topping, I used brown sugar instead of white. I baked it for 35 minutes, and I think another 3-5 minutes would have made it even better. I drizzled the honey on top immediately after I took it out of the oven and let it cool for 30 minutes. I cut it into 9 pieces, and enjoyed a piece. It's all I can do not to eat another piece right now. This recipe is definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
I made this for a pot luck, and other than the inherent messiness of crescent roll perforated dough (my local store doesn't carry the seamless sheets, sadly), this was way more delicious than I thought possible with the pre-made dough. It was a total hit with the party-goers, so much so that I never took a photo. The honey is the bit that seals it as a sopapilla-inspired dish. I believe a smidgen of honey drizzled under the served slices would enhance it more than the drizzle on top. Still, undeniably a hit and well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Not only did I love this recipe, everyone I've shared it with has loved it as well. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb2887
Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Albion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I LOVED THIS RECIPE! Sooooo delicious! It was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristol_the_pistol
Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Even though this recipe has been in my recipe box forever, I made this on a whim tonight. As an avid review reader, I didn't have time to read many, so I made it pretty much as directed (odd for me). After reading more reviews, I absolutely agree that it needs the 3rd package of cream cheese (I added cinnamon to mine since I love it) and the topping can be reduced as well. I made my topping with 1/4 cup butter and half white and brown sugars, which I'd do again. I thought the honey would make this TOO sweet, so I cut the squares and added the honey to each individual piece. It was perfect! Will definitely make this again and again with a few minor tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
It was delicious and super easy to make! I didn't have Mexican vanilla so I just used regular vanilla extract and left out the honey. Also, 1/2 cup of butter was too much and made the crust a little too gooey. I will use less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 1,258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

PAM® Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

See how to make tangy sopapilla cheesecake pie.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States