Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Loved it! So easy and quick to make. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is really delicious, but there are changes that you MUST make. I followed other reviewers suggestions and cut down the sugar in the cream cheese by 1/3 cup, and it was still borderline too sweet. As written, I think it would be overwhelmingly sugary. You could add another block of cream cheese to make more filling (it's a thin layer as written, in the pan size suggested) but keep all other ingredients as the same and it would be perfect I think. I also cut the butter for the topping by almost 1/2 and it was perfect, cut the sugar in the topping down to 1/3 cup, and honestly, could cut more from that as well. Then I made additional changes simply to cut fat and calories -used 1 block of Greek cream cheese (it's really good, and next time I will substitute it entirely and cut 320 calories and 48g of fat from the entire desert and add 16g of protein!) I also used low fat crescent rolls. With the other reductions of butter and sugar that I made, and cutting into 16 serv (about the size of an average brownie serving) I got them down to 255 cal and 13g of fat (as written 480 cal per!) Substituting all Greek cream cheese will drop them about another 20 calories or so. I also left off the honey so we can just put it on individual pieces. I didn't try it tonight, but I will tomorrow :-) My rating is entirely based on the fact that the sugar and butter amounts as written are WAY off, and if I had made it as written, it would have been too sweet and greasy on top from the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Oh my goodness!!! This recipe is so simple but so delicious!! I made it for my family and everyone loved it! Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Outstanding! This is delicious. I would add 1 egg to the cream cheese mix. Cool well before eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was the first dessert to go at the dessert table! Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Love it just the way it is!!! Delicious!! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I love cheesecake so I figured these would fit the craving. They were pretty good and I would make them again. HOWEVER, they seemed to have a way too much butter because after I baked them the melted butter pooled on top of the crescent dough which was kinda gross. I did half the recipe and used a 8x8 pan, so maybe this was the root of the problem, but I find that hard to believe. After the bars cooled the butter soaked in. I don't mind a lot of butter in a recipe if it fits its purpose. I would probably use half the butter dotted on top next time. You could probably get away with skipping it altogether and just sprinkling the top with cinnamon-sugar to save on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Came out great! Next time I will use Puff Pastry instead since my hubby likes puff pastry more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Overall, my boyfriend and I both really liked this desert. I did change a few things per the reviews of others. I cooked it in an 8x8 dish and the cream cheese layer was still on the thin side. An extra 8 oz cream cheese definitely wouldn't hurt. Changes: precooked the bottom layer of dough for 5 minutes, halved the sugar in both the topping and inside mixture, added half brown sugar in the topping, and halved the butter in the topping as well. It came out with the exact amount of sweetness that I was looking for. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Creswell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Great recipe! Brought it to a potluck my Ultimate Frisbee team planned, and it was finished by the end of the day. I even got asked for the recipe by one of the members, and another asked me to make it again for their birthday. It really is simple, by only problem being that it was a little expensive (all-in-all, I spent around $9 on the crescent rolls and cream cheese), and it was too sweet. If anybody is making this recipe, I would definitely recommend putting in MUCH less sugar. The first time I made the recipe, I heeded the people in the comments' warnings, and put in around 25% less sugar and butter into the recipe. This was still much too sweet in my opinion. Although my team members quite liked it, when I made it again for the birthday party, I put in about half of the sugar in the cream cheese mix and around a quarter of the combined topping (sugar+cinnamon+butter). In my opinion, it tastes much better that way! Also note that instead of dotting the butter on top of the dough, I melted it in the microwave and brushed it on until the top was coated. Do not over-do this!!! The crust will become soft and mushy even after baking instead of crispy like you want it to. Overall it was a very good dish and I can definitely see myself making it a third time with the adjustments I mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States