Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I love cheesecake so I figured these would fit the craving. They were pretty good and I would make them again. HOWEVER, they seemed to have a way too much butter because after I baked them the melted butter pooled on top of the crescent dough which was kinda gross. I did half the recipe and used a 8x8 pan, so maybe this was the root of the problem, but I find that hard to believe. After the bars cooled the butter soaked in. I don't mind a lot of butter in a recipe if it fits its purpose. I would probably use half the butter dotted on top next time. You could probably get away with skipping it altogether and just sprinkling the top with cinnamon-sugar to save on calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Came out great! Next time I will use Puff Pastry instead since my hubby likes puff pastry more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Overall, my boyfriend and I both really liked this desert. I did change a few things per the reviews of others. I cooked it in an 8x8 dish and the cream cheese layer was still on the thin side. An extra 8 oz cream cheese definitely wouldn't hurt. Changes: precooked the bottom layer of dough for 5 minutes, halved the sugar in both the topping and inside mixture, added half brown sugar in the topping, and halved the butter in the topping as well. It came out with the exact amount of sweetness that I was looking for. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Great recipe! Brought it to a potluck my Ultimate Frisbee team planned, and it was finished by the end of the day. I even got asked for the recipe by one of the members, and another asked me to make it again for their birthday. It really is simple, by only problem being that it was a little expensive (all-in-all, I spent around $9 on the crescent rolls and cream cheese), and it was too sweet. If anybody is making this recipe, I would definitely recommend putting in MUCH less sugar. The first time I made the recipe, I heeded the people in the comments' warnings, and put in around 25% less sugar and butter into the recipe. This was still much too sweet in my opinion. Although my team members quite liked it, when I made it again for the birthday party, I put in about half of the sugar in the cream cheese mix and around a quarter of the combined topping (sugar+cinnamon+butter). In my opinion, it tastes much better that way! Also note that instead of dotting the butter on top of the dough, I melted it in the microwave and brushed it on until the top was coated. Do not over-do this!!! The crust will become soft and mushy even after baking instead of crispy like you want it to. Overall it was a very good dish and I can definitely see myself making it a third time with the adjustments I mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I made this recipe for company. It is good but very sweet. I can only eat just a little. But it is good. And the recipe makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patsy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Amazing Dessert, took it to a graduation dinner party, and it was gone fast!!! Simple to make, highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I took it to a get together where we had a taco bar and everyone loved this dessert! There were several other desserts and the entire sopapilla was eaten. My husband has requested that I make this one often. I went exactly by the recipe other than I didn't have Mexican vanilla so I just used pure vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naruxsasucute
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I made it in a 9x13 pan. I made it with regular vanilla since I couldn't find regular vanilla and it came out EXCELLENT! I heavily reccommend. I left the party with very little left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
My husband doesn't cook nor does he know how to cook. He made this for me as part of our anniversary dinner and it was arguably the best thing I have ever eaten. Do yourself a favor and make this. You'll thank me later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I wasn't sure how this would be with crescent rolls on top because it sounded odd, but I loved rhis cheesecake and so did my co-workers! I could not find Mexican vanilla so I just used regular vanilla. I put a little extra in (only because I do that for any recipe that calls for vanilla - or brown sugar- I never measure). I also added extra cinnamon (another thing I don't measure). My tip for rolling out the crescent roll dough is to roll it out between 2 sheets of parchment paper. The dough doesn't stick to the rolling pin and you can transfer it to the pan easier by holding the paper over the pan and just letting it roll off the parchment paper. I baked it for about 40 minutes. After making this, I found a similar recipe with apples that I will definitely be trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States