Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Thanks for the fantastic recipe!! Just as promised on other reviews, I got bombarded with compliments and requests for the recipe when I brought this to a restaurant for my parents anniversary. I did cut down on the butter a little ( I used between 5-6 tablespoons) but you really do want little pools of butter laying on the top crust because when you add the sugar cinnamon and bake it, it makes this delightful crispy, sugary goodness. It's like getting the benefits of deep frying without the grease or pain the arse. I also separated one egg, beat the yolk with the cream cheese/sugar/vanilla mixture then whipped the white a couple minutes and gently folded it into the rest of the mixture. The ONLY thing I'll do different next time is remove a little more of the dough before baking (just where it overlaps too much or gets bunched up in the corners). Again, OUTSTANDING RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I changed this recipe according to another persons review. I used an egg and 1/2 cup sour cream and two blocks of 1/3 less fat cream cheese. I added raspberry jam to the top of cream cheese. It was a very good dessert day at my house! I like reading how people change things according to what they have on hand. Gives me different ideas and such. To those who think it's wrong to change the recipe and comment on them, boo hoo. It's still a free country, last I checked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Love love love this!!! Made it for new years one year and making it again tonight for a Mexican food themed pot luck. Im not much of a sweets fan, but this dessert is perfect! All the right sweetness. Not rich, but not bland. I didn't change anything though one time I did make it without almonds due to a nut allergy, but I'd have to say it's better with almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
A huge hit with the family! Will definitely make these again. They disappeared quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Everyone races over this!!! I have seen other recipes with less cream cheese and this one is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happygirlrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Indiana, USA
Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this recipe with "multigrain" crescent rolls which I had bought by mistake. I don't think it made any difference to the taste but maybe a wee bit healthier. I also added fresh cut up peaches, mango and apricots before adding the last layer of crescent roll. I think that made it better and would add even more fruit next time. I found the filling to be a little gooey and am trying to think of a way to make it more like the firmness of regular cheesecake. I'm thinking of adding eggs next time and par cooking it before adding it to the pan. Input from anyone else out there would be appreciated. It go rave review from all who ate it, including my husband who doesn't like cheesecake (finds it too rich) so I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cochrane, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This is amazing but you only need 1/2 the amount of butter or less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing! My 9 year old daughter did it by herself, and it was a hit at our New Years's Eve party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 423) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sopapilla Cheesecake Dessert

A deliciously different cheesecake with a Mexican twist.

Sopapilla Cheesecake Pie

Easy to make, this yummy and unique dessert always gets raves.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States