Sopa de Lentejas (Andalucian Lentil Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bklockhart
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Made this today for my colleagues at work, and got rave reviews Substituted red, yellow, and orange peppers for the green, and added "pimenton" aka smoked Spanish paprika. That along with a traditional Spanish chorizo made this especially tasty. Next time I'll add carrots to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I accidentally used Mexican chorizo, but it turned out wonderful anyway. I boiled off much of the water and it turned into a wonderful side dish on the plate instead of a soup. Also, I substituted rice because I was preparing it last minute and didn't have any lentils soaked. My fiance raved it was by far the best lunch she had had all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
To make this a bit more traditional, salt-cured ham hock pieces are used for more flavor (hueso de jamón serrano), but I imagine these are hard to find in the US. Also, instead of bacon, in Spain we use panceta. In addition, Spanish paprika is missing. Spaniards typically make a "sofrito": in a small pan, sauté chopped onion in 2T olive oil, then add chopped tomoatoes and allow to reduce, then add about 1/2T Spanish paprika. Add this mixture to the pot. ¡Buen provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Great! My mom used to make this and I have been looking for a recipe that resembled hers. I made it exactly as the recipe calls and it was delicious. I find it strange that people find it simple or lacking flavor because the spanish chorizo gives it A LOT of flavor, I'm willing to bet they're using the wrong type of chorizo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FireMedicJC
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I enjoyed this recipe very much. Although I did doctor it up a bit like abuela would. I used chicken broth instead of water, added some baby carrots at the same time as the potatoes, and also used a couple smoked ham hoaxs for more flavor. It was a hit that even got Nana's approval. Good recipe to start though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireMedicJC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Really tasty soup, very flavorful and hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnabellee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocoee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
With the addition of about a tsp. each of salt, cumin, and red pepper flakes, it was flavorful enough to not be bland but still nothing spectacular on it's own. 2 out of 5 family members would eat it. My husband said never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
With crusty bread and a tossed salad, this is a great quick dinner. Next time I'd use chicken broth instead of water. I seasoned with some smoky paprika as the bay leaf just wasn't enough. I didn't soak the lentils overnight, just 15 minutes before I cooked them. Took a bit longer, but not much. I like the quickness of this recipe and will make it again with additional seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Marie's Lentil Soup

See how to make a hearty, healthy, and flavorful vegetarian soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States