Sopa De Lima (Mexican Lime Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
A wonderful taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This is a great recipe with tons of flavor and it got better on the second day. A very light and refreshing soup, even during the Florida summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AV8R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Excellent soup - great flavour but still made some changes. Didn't use tomatoes, oregano, thyme or chile pepper. Used 2 tetra packs of broth with only 1 1/2 limes. Added 1 cup of frozen corn and some black beans. Topped with tortilla chips and shredded cheese. Even the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very Tasty indeed.... I think a little tequila wouldn't hurt !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was very light and delicious! I did not have 6 limes so, I just grated some lime peel into the soup when I boiled the chicken and it turned out great! I love the stong lime flavor in this. I will make this again for sure! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Fantastic soup and flavor. I love fresh lime and cilantro. One thing we might add next time is hominy to add a bit more substance to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Very intense lime flavor- my husband and I both couldn't believe that it took 6 limes, but we followed the recipe exactly and loved it. It was so easy and quick to make. We will definitely add this to our "short list" of recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Amazing!! So refreshing! I didn't use fresh tomatoes, I used Rotel and a can of green chiles to save time. Also, I added corn niblets, rice and carrots for my tasting. I make a pot EVERY WEEK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is a great soup! I replaced the tomatoes with habanero Rotel. I wasn't sure what kind of pepper to use as "green chile pepper" is rather vague, so I used a nice big jalapeno. I also zested my limes and used the zest in the soup. I didn't remove my chicken & cut it up; I just cooked til it was shreddable and then shredded it right in the pot using 2 forks (1 to hold it still, one to tear it into chunks). I served this with optional tequila, tortilla chips, and cream of coconut. (Interestingly, I was the only one to use all three. Go figure.) This was very easy to do; in the future however I will probably use 1 less chicken breast and add a cup of brown rice, pearl barley, or pre-cooked kidney beans (just because I like all those things better than chicken). I'll definitely make this again, and a big thank-you to ShareBear for recommending it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I love the fresh taste of the chile with the cilantro. I made some corn bread with a half can of sweet corn and another chile to go along with it. I would recommend this recipe to anyone up for a light, refreshing dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States