Sopa De Lima (Mexican Lime Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I sliced and sauteed the chicken with onion and garlic in a dutch oven then added some diced jalapeno, frozen corn, fresh carrots and celery. Added ground cumin, paprika, along with the oregano. Added clilantro and fresh parseley. I used both fresh lime juice and lime zest and was worried it would taste too strongly of lime, but it was just perfect. My husband couldn't get enough of it! With some low fat sour cream, tortilla chips and shredded cheddar it made for a wonderful lunch. Great with a cold beer or margarita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
It was good. I would definitely add something to the soup so it's not mostly broth. I added some egg noodles (which just cooked in the broth) and corn. I tried 1/2 the lime juice but needed the full amount to make it the right flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Incredibly good! I used 2 small serrano chiles and the heat was perfect for us. Don't skip on the cilantro at the end, it really makes the dish. Reheats well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Colfax, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was really good and simple. Very refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I used a poblano pepper... This is by the far the best Mexican-style soup I've found on this website. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Followed the recipe as written - JUST like I had in Mexico...delicious, and easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammylou

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Brydges, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This recipe is delicious! I love the fresh taste of the chile with the cilantro. I made some corn bread with a half can of sweet corn and another chile to go along with it. I would recommend this recipe to anyone up for a light, refreshing dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This is a great soup! I replaced the tomatoes with habanero Rotel. I wasn't sure what kind of pepper to use as "green chile pepper" is rather vague, so I used a nice big jalapeno. I also zested my limes and used the zest in the soup. I didn't remove my chicken & cut it up; I just cooked til it was shreddable and then shredded it right in the pot using 2 forks (1 to hold it still, one to tear it into chunks). I served this with optional tequila, tortilla chips, and cream of coconut. (Interestingly, I was the only one to use all three. Go figure.) This was very easy to do; in the future however I will probably use 1 less chicken breast and add a cup of brown rice, pearl barley, or pre-cooked kidney beans (just because I like all those things better than chicken). I'll definitely make this again, and a big thank-you to ShareBear for recommending it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Amazing!! So refreshing! I didn't use fresh tomatoes, I used Rotel and a can of green chiles to save time. Also, I added corn niblets, rice and carrots for my tasting. I make a pot EVERY WEEK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Very intense lime flavor- my husband and I both couldn't believe that it took 6 limes, but we followed the recipe exactly and loved it. It was so easy and quick to make. We will definitely add this to our "short list" of recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States