Sopa De Lima (Mexican Lime Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Delicious. I added carrots, celery and potatoes to make it heartier, and used home made stock. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yamsicle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This soup is fresh, healthy, and delicious! This will definately be a go-to meal for me, it was very easy to make. I know I will crave this on gloomy days. I did make a few changes. First, I used 6 Roma tomatoes instead of 2 large tomatoes because most Mexican dishes I make call for Roma. Second, I added a bit of cayenne pepper for a little extra spice. The last thing I changed was that I served with cubed avocado on top which really made the soup taste finished to me (I tried with and without). I highly recommend serving with avocado. Also, it does have a very tangy lime flavor so if you aren't crazy about fresh lime (I am) try using 4 or 5 limes instead. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I went to Mexico on vacation and had lime soup for the first time. When I got back, I knew I had to find a recipe! I altered only slightly by substituting a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies and only 4 limes. Next time I think I'll leave out the green onion, as I didn't taste it and had a lot left over that I won't use. I ate with some Multigrain Tostitos on top, and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This soup was absolutely amazing!! Of course I had to alter some of the ingredients but overall what a tasty light cuisine. Instead of chili peppers I added a couple of anaheim peppers to give it more spice. I also added squash and zuchinni to give it more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I added posole to it...or what is also called hominy, it was so good we ate it all on the first day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly (which I rarely do), and the results were delicious. With the exception of my youngest, who thought the lime juice was a little sour, my family loved it. I will make this healthy soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Great soup easily made vegan/vegetarian by the substitution of chicken broth with vegetable broth and chicken breast with vegan chicken. I also added some broken up pieces of cooked spaghetti. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
One fourth of a recipe served two of us generously at lunch. I wanted something not too heavy to go with grilled scallop ceviche. I used half of a large chicken breast for 1/4 recipe. I added some leftover crumbly taco chips and cilantro to the broth near the end. Next time I will add cilantro to the broth initially. It has just the right amount of tartness but could use some more heat. I'll leave pepper seeds in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My husband and I absolutely loved this soup! I added one jalapeno (seeded and chopped). Served it with lowfat sour cream and queso fresco. Wonderful flavors and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is the best soup I have ever made! I usually make a soup on Wednesdays and have it for a few days and freeze the rest in lunch size portions....this soup, however, did not make it to the freezer! I couldn't stop eating it.....thanks a lot for posting...it was exactly what I was looking for and I didn't change a thing to the recipe....PERFECTO!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States