Sopa De Lima (Mexican Lime Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I sliced and sauteed the chicken with onion and garlic in a dutch oven then added some diced jalapeno, frozen corn, fresh carrots and celery. Added ground cumin, paprika, along with the oregano. Added clilantro and fresh parseley. I used both fresh lime juice and lime zest and was worried it would taste too strongly of lime, but it was just perfect. My husband couldn't get enough of it! With some low fat sour cream, tortilla chips and shredded cheddar it made for a wonderful lunch. Great with a cold beer or margarita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was very light and delicious! I did not have 6 limes so, I just grated some lime peel into the soup when I boiled the chicken and it turned out great! I love the stong lime flavor in this. I will make this again for sure! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My husband and I absolutely loved this soup! I added one jalapeno (seeded and chopped). Served it with lowfat sour cream and queso fresco. Wonderful flavors and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was very yummy with two additions...I used shrimp instead of chicken and also put fresh corn, cut from the cobb, into the soup. It only needed about 3 1/2 limes...quite limey so use caution and taste before adding all 6 limes. Also, I omitted the extra salt in step 2. Plenty of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Fantastic soup and flavor. I love fresh lime and cilantro. One thing we might add next time is hominy to add a bit more substance to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very Tasty indeed.... I think a little tequila wouldn't hurt !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Amazing!! So refreshing! I didn't use fresh tomatoes, I used Rotel and a can of green chiles to save time. Also, I added corn niblets, rice and carrots for my tasting. I make a pot EVERY WEEK!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I like the flavor of this soup alot. I sauteed the onion, garlic and chicken together before adding it to the chicken stock. I know you're thinking it's too much lime but it's not - the flavor comes out really good. Make sure you use plenty of fresh cilantro - it's essential. This soup tastes really fresh with a little bit of a kick. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I used a poblano pepper... This is by the far the best Mexican-style soup I've found on this website. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KariMercer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Manama, Capital, Bahrain
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
A wonderful taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States