Sopa De Lima (Mexican Lime Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Made this last night because limes were on sale 9/$1 and I picked up a bunch not having the slightest idea what I would use them for. The soup is very light so I would definitely add something to it so it's not mostly broth. I chose to add cooked noodles..but I think it still needs something else..just not exactly sure what. I will also cut back on the amount of limes used..since 6 was too strong for our taste. Thanks for sharing the recipe..it was nice to try something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerDavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Yummy, yummy, yummy! My family and friends are still talking about this one. I served it with brazillian lemonade and southwestern-style egg rolls. Great meal!!! I tried some of this at work in the cafeteria, and decided to make it myself because it was so good. All of my co-workers said this was the better tasting version. I added the juice of 3 more limes just to really give it an extra kick. Next time I might add some corn or black beans to give it more substance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This was fantastic! I added 2 cans of white hominy and a bag of frozen corn. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Indeed light & refreshing...I prepared with chicken thighs and 2 large jalapenos. Very good - thanks for sharing. I ate half a bowl before realizing I forgot the cilantro - good without, even better with. I love limes too, BTW. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate65

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and the aftertaste was far too bitter for us. I really wanted to love this as it was easy to prepare and very healthy. I ate one bowl and threw out the rest. Maybe use less lime? I know I am in the minority here, but my boyfriend and I really didn't care for it. Just had a really strong, unpleasant bitter taste. Thank you, though! It is always fun trying new things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
This made a nice light meal. Was easy to prepare, I liked it and might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FruitLoops

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Great taste! Definitely serve it with tortilla chips and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I like the flavor of this soup alot. I sauteed the onion, garlic and chicken together before adding it to the chicken stock. I know you're thinking it's too much lime but it's not - the flavor comes out really good. Make sure you use plenty of fresh cilantro - it's essential. This soup tastes really fresh with a little bit of a kick. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
great soup! easy to make and loved by all in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States