Sopa De Lima (Mexican Lime Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This was very yummy with two additions...I used shrimp instead of chicken and also put fresh corn, cut from the cobb, into the soup. It only needed about 3 1/2 limes...quite limey so use caution and taste before adding all 6 limes. Also, I omitted the extra salt in step 2. Plenty of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
What is not to like? It's AMAZING!!!! Did nothing different. It is what it is...fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
One of my favorite recipes in three years of using allrecipes. I made it exactly according to the recipe. Tastes to me like the authentic Mexican food from back home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I just returned from a weeklong trip to Merida in in the Yucatan from whence this recipe originates (Mayan cuisine). I ordered at either lunch or dinner at least five times. Just so good! I've made it twice following the directions exactly the first time with the second batch tasting exactly like the real thing. The only changes I made were to literally quadruple the cilantro and double the chili pepper. The soup I had in the Yucatan is definitely spicier. Thanks for this recipe! I will be making it regularly from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I have not tried this recipe but just got back from Mexico where I enjoyed Mayan Lime Soup. The soup I had in Mexico also had strips of tortilla chips in it. For those wanting a little more substance in their soup, that would be worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I first had Lime Soup on my honeymoon in Riviera Maya, Mexico in February 2008. I had it again on vacation in Cancun, Mexico in February of 2011. This took me right back. The flavors and textures are just like I remember. It's such a light and refreshing soup. We even loved it in 80-degree weather! I still giggle when I think about one of our tour guides convincing a teenaged tourist that the soup has iguana in it! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I used already cooked chicken breast that was shredded and homemade chicken broth. I used a red pepper and yellow onion. I didn't have any good fresh tomatoes so I used two cans of mexican stewed tomatoes with their juices and added pickled jalapenos in place of the green chile pepper. Couple changes but still tasted fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Really delicious!!! LOVE the lime flavor! I did add carrots, celery, potatoes and cumin like others did but it would have been great without as well. Makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Wow. Wow. Wow. Love this recipe to pieces!! Perfect for summer!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLISONBROADUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klein, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Making this chicken taco soup is a snap in the slow cooker.

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States