Sonora Chicken Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
A wonderful dish. I will use this one often. I don't have to cook anything else to go with this one. It is an entire meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
a fabulous chicken recipe! I made this for my husband for father's day, and I felt like we had ordered take-out from a restaurant! It takes a little while to prepare, but is well worth the effort and time. It is amazing! Great for special occasions - very impressive looking and tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMBER-SAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
For those who think this is too cheesy tasting or too much sour cream, I can only say "well, duh!" If you don't like those two ingredients, you definitely won't like this recipe and shouldn't even try it. My husband and I thought this was FANTASTIC! The first thing he said was that it LOOKED really nice. It tasted even better. Next time I'll use another can of beans and at least one more piece of chicken. The cheese sauce would also be great as a dip for chips or vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
If you want this to taste more like the real deal, add more spices!! I can't even tell you how much hot sauce and red pepper I added. I just kept tasting and adding more. Otherwise, it tasted great, and it was a very hearty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
My daughter ate this at Ruby Tuesday's and absolutely loved it so I had to find the recipe. Now she likes mine better than at the restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCGEORGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I was a fan of the Sonora Chicken Pasta at Ruby Tuesday, then they stopped making it. I think I like this recipe better. I made it as it is written with the addition of 1/2 cup of onion, 1 minced garlic clove, and 1/3 cup flour, and 1/2 cup water into the cheese sauce as I prepared it. I also just used a can of diced tomatoes instead of 2 tomatoes. Very tasty. If you want more of a spicy taste, add a little bit more hot pepper sauce onto the combined product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam phillips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I agree, to the people who "cant get over the Velveeta taste".. Well, this recipe is not for you! I found this recipe after looking for something to cook to use up my chunk of processed cheese food. (Not Velveeta brand, either.) I had to halve the recipe b/c I didn't have a pound of the stuff, in fact I didn't even have 1/2 pound but I improvised. I added a mexican spice blend to the cheese sauce (the fresh stuff you squeeze out of a tube) and it gave the sauce such an intense, good heat! I will definitely make this dish again if I come across Velveeta that I need to use up. I would even feed this to guests, it was delicious!!! Overall easy recipe to tweak or add to if need be, so don't worry if you don't have all the ingredients down to a T. I would suggest trying to make the sauce spicy or at least mild, it takes away from the processed cheese flavor that so many people don't love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was better than the restaurant version. However I made the following changes: Seasoned very think chicken breasts with salt, red pepper and poultry seasoning and fried the chicken breasts in olive oil and poured the olive oil and chicken into a bowl. Instead of plain cheese, I used velveeta mexican cheese, sour cream and a litte heavy cream once the cheese started melting. I used diced tomatoes with chilies instead of plain diced tomatoes and fresh cilantro instead of green onions. It was creamy and just spicy enough. One of our favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Iles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was pretty awesome!!! I have been looking for a recipe like this for a while now. I use to always get this pasta from Ruby Tuesdays when they had it, but they currently no long have this on their menu. I did, however, make one slight change to the posters recipe. I added flank stead instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Savinski Kocar
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I fell in love with this after having it at Ruby Tuesday's many years ago. I agree with others in that it's not the exact recipe but close to my recollection. I did add more hot sauce and crushed red pepper. We like it with a definite kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States