Sonora Chicken Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was pretty awesome!!! I have been looking for a recipe like this for a while now. I use to always get this pasta from Ruby Tuesdays when they had it, but they currently no long have this on their menu. I did, however, make one slight change to the posters recipe. I added flank stead instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twinsmom4
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I fell in love with this after having it at Ruby Tuesday's many years ago. I agree with others in that it's not the exact recipe but close to my recollection. I did add more hot sauce and crushed red pepper. We like it with a definite kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I used to work at Ruby Tuesday and ate the Sanora often. Unfortunately this recipe is not even close. The sauce is much to thick and too rich. The sour cream really cuts the heat, which is what made the Sanora at ruby's so good. If I try this recipe again I will make a Queso with the velveeta and rotel then toss the pasta in it. Then top it with the chicken, black beans and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grosse Ile, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I tried this and didn't like it at all. I prefer mine and like some others I took a clue to mine from Ruby Tuesdays because they took it off their menu there. I love it so naturally had to make my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was pretty darn good. My husband cooked it, and used about 8 oz. Velveeta and a can of drained diced tomatoes with green chilies in place of the chopped tomatoes, because that's what we had on hand. I don't think we'll add any more Velveeta next time...the sauce was great and we LOVE cheese! Quick and easy and VERY filling! Thanks Bernadette!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This was better than the restaurant version. However I made the following changes: Seasoned very think chicken breasts with salt, red pepper and poultry seasoning and fried the chicken breasts in olive oil and poured the olive oil and chicken into a bowl. Instead of plain cheese, I used velveeta mexican cheese, sour cream and a litte heavy cream once the cheese started melting. I used diced tomatoes with chilies instead of plain diced tomatoes and fresh cilantro instead of green onions. It was creamy and just spicy enough. One of our favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Iles

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I agree, to the people who "cant get over the Velveeta taste".. Well, this recipe is not for you! I found this recipe after looking for something to cook to use up my chunk of processed cheese food. (Not Velveeta brand, either.) I had to halve the recipe b/c I didn't have a pound of the stuff, in fact I didn't even have 1/2 pound but I improvised. I added a mexican spice blend to the cheese sauce (the fresh stuff you squeeze out of a tube) and it gave the sauce such an intense, good heat! I will definitely make this dish again if I come across Velveeta that I need to use up. I would even feed this to guests, it was delicious!!! Overall easy recipe to tweak or add to if need be, so don't worry if you don't have all the ingredients down to a T. I would suggest trying to make the sauce spicy or at least mild, it takes away from the processed cheese flavor that so many people don't love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Good recipe, but I don't use sour cream in the cheese sauce, I use evaporated milk w/flour and a little butter and add 1 tbsp cider vinegar and 1-2 tsps cumin instead of worcestershire or hot sauce, really helps with the overwhelming cheesy flavor. I use a can of chopped green chilis and hot sauce in my bean mixture to get the spicy flavor into the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I have the recipe from Ruby Tuesdays and they make a simple white sauce first, add cubed velveeta, then add taco sauce with a dash of hot sauce. I have substituted the white sauce and velveeta with a jar of cheese sauce found next to the spaghetti sauce and a dash of taco sauce with the hot sauce. It was much simpler to make and didn't take as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I was a fan of the Sonora Chicken Pasta at Ruby Tuesday, then they stopped making it. I think I like this recipe better. I made it as it is written with the addition of 1/2 cup of onion, 1 minced garlic clove, and 1/3 cup flour, and 1/2 cup water into the cheese sauce as I prepared it. I also just used a can of diced tomatoes instead of 2 tomatoes. Very tasty. If you want more of a spicy taste, add a little bit more hot pepper sauce onto the combined product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adam phillips

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Greek Chicken Pasta

See how to make Greek-style pasta with chicken and artichokes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States