Sonny's Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Made as directed except that we substituted cheddar for the Swiss. This was really bland. Maybe a good starting point, but it seems like it's missing a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
This is a great little recipe! So easy and most of the things in here are stuff I normally have on hand! What could be easier than that? I made this after reading the reviews and I just tweaked it to my own personal preferences and it is wonderful! First of all, I chose to substitute in Johnsonville ground Italian sausage for half of my ground beef. It gave an unique blend of spices to the recipe and in my opinion really upped the overall flavor to the dish. I had just used up my spinach for another recipe yesterday so I chose to use green beans instead.** Either one works well and doesn't change the dish all that much either.** Now, I love Swiss cheese with spinach, but like a mix of Cheddar and Jack with green beans(and broccoli too for that matter, which also makes a great substitute for the spinach). I decided to mix a little bit of the cheese into the casserole as well as sprinkled on top, again, just personal preference, then I layered OreIda tater tots on top last. Baked it in the oven for the time listed, but covered it for the first 30 minutes to keep the tots from over browning. Removed the foil for the last 15-30 minutes (according to your oven) and it turned out golden brown. You can't get this one wrong! I know that making this according to the directions will yield a beautiful dish on its own, but I wanted to show how versatile this recipe is and how you could go pretty much in any direction you choose simply using the basic ingredients. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Husband & son loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENISE768

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
We enjoyed this. We used about 4 loosely packed cups of fresh spinach (which we then rough chopped and didn't precook) instead of frozen and shredded mozzarella because we didn't have any swiss. Otherwise made as written. I would make it again, but with about 1/2 lb. to 1 lb. less beef and another cup of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This wasn't bad at all! I noticed a few ppl saying it was missing something, so I added some diced green chilis to the mix and it gave it a little pop that it seemed to need. Also added a bit of garlic powder and omitted the mushrooms (not a fan). Was a great lunch-my 4 and 2 year olds cleaned their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Gave it 4 stars because I had to tweak it a little. Did not use spinach. Added 1 large can of french cut green beans. Used 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of celery and some sour cream. No swiss- added cheddar cheese and french fried onions the last 30 min. With these changes, 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Very yummy with some alterations. I used 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of chicken, and also added 8 oz of sour cream. Browned the meat with garlic powder, ground pepper and parsley. Also I grated the onions to get the juices in there as well. After browning the meat, stir in soups and sour cream, then add to baking dish. Topped that with grated cheddar, topped with taters, and then added a bit more cheese 10 mins til I was done, and topped that with french cut green beans. Turned out very good with the beans on top. The taters actually were crunchy on top, and fell apart on the bottom, and mixed with the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This recipe was really a nice change. It was easy and simple to make also. I omited the mushrooms and used one can of cream of celery and one can of cream of mushroom since that is all I had in the pantry. I also left out the spinach and used cheddar instead of swiss on half of the casserole just to see which I liked better. Both sides were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
We liked it. Followed the recipe for the most part but, used a 16 oz. package of broccoli instead of spinach. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
It was a hit with everyone and there were no leftovers. I tweaked it up a bit using ground venison that we had on hand, American cheese and a fraction of the spinach... but it was really tastey and my picky little one ate every bite. I am thinking it will be fun to try it with different cheeses and maybe ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBARTH1204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States