Sonny's Tater Tot Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I made this for a crowd and made a whole recipe, the general census was it was "good" but a little bland. Not sure if I missed something in the preperation or not. I still liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was very good. I had never had tater tot casserole before. I compared a few recipes before setteling on this one. I liked it because it had vegetables and no heavy sour cream. I used half fat cream of mushroom soup and added ground beef to the mix. I also decided to mix it all together. It was quite good, but still heavy. Not something I would make very often, but definetly will make again. My 2 year old also loved it. (Yeay! I got her to eat spinach!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
my husband and I liked this, but the kids didn't. The spinach added an odd texture. I might try it again, but I will not use swiss cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
This recipe is just "okay," but I used shredded Mexican mix cheese as I just couldn't imagine using Swiss. It cooked for over an hour and for the last 8 minutes I cranked up the oven to 450 in order to fully cook/brown the tater tots. The recipe seems to be missing something, but I'm not sure what. My husband and daughter smothered it in catsup (which says something). The bottom of the tater tots were kind of soggy (as they sat in the meat/cheese mixture). This is a very heavy meal. All in all, it just didn't cut it for me. If I could give it 3.5 stars I would, but that's about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Tried it with cut leaf spinach which gave it a much better texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
It was a hit with everyone and there were no leftovers. I tweaked it up a bit using ground venison that we had on hand, American cheese and a fraction of the spinach... but it was really tastey and my picky little one ate every bite. I am thinking it will be fun to try it with different cheeses and maybe ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBARTH1204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
We liked it. Followed the recipe for the most part but, used a 16 oz. package of broccoli instead of spinach. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This recipe was really a nice change. It was easy and simple to make also. I omited the mushrooms and used one can of cream of celery and one can of cream of mushroom since that is all I had in the pantry. I also left out the spinach and used cheddar instead of swiss on half of the casserole just to see which I liked better. Both sides were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Very yummy with some alterations. I used 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of chicken, and also added 8 oz of sour cream. Browned the meat with garlic powder, ground pepper and parsley. Also I grated the onions to get the juices in there as well. After browning the meat, stir in soups and sour cream, then add to baking dish. Topped that with grated cheddar, topped with taters, and then added a bit more cheese 10 mins til I was done, and topped that with french cut green beans. Turned out very good with the beans on top. The taters actually were crunchy on top, and fell apart on the bottom, and mixed with the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Gave it 4 stars because I had to tweak it a little. Did not use spinach. Added 1 large can of french cut green beans. Used 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of celery and some sour cream. No swiss- added cheddar cheese and french fried onions the last 30 min. With these changes, 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Savory Tater Tot Casserole

This casserole makes a savory meat-and-potatoes meal--all in one dish.

Tater Tot Bake

This easy, satisfying version of shepherd's pie is a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States