Something Special Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was delicious. I used my own homemade apple filling but this recipes crisp. The crisp was tasty, buttery, crispy and delicious! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chefchristabug
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I thought this was very good and so did my daughter. We dug into it as soon as it came out of the oven. The tapioca does a nice job thickening it and the walnuts are delightful. I omitted the coconut only because I realized I didn't have any at the time. Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefchristabug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
DEEEEEEELICIOUS! I added organic cranberries from a package to the apple mixture. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Big hit in my household! Made it for a dessert on Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I use my own home-made apple pie filling, and incorporate the topping from this recipe. My husband enjoyed it so much that he asked me to make it for his company Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Phenomenal. I made this with a friend at a party and everyone loved it! Comments included "That's crazy good cobbler" and "I normally hate baked apples, but holy ."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe; however, I do agree with another reader that the butter may be a tad too much and definitely makes the paper liners greasey. I chose not to process the oats in the food processor, preferring instead, to keep them as is and they add a great texture to the finished product. I think next time, I'll try applesauce in place of the butter. This recipe is really, really good! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Awesome topping. For the filling, I only used 4 thinly sliced apples: No sugar, spices, etc. The topping had enough flavor to take care of the apples. Perhaps a little less salt would be a good idea. I also did not use the coconut or nutmeg AND substituted a bit of the butter with vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This really was good. I did make a couple changes just out of necessity (didn't have any coconut and we have a slight walnut allergy in this family). I also did not measure the apples, and instead just sliced up 4 empire apples. I doubled the oats to make up for the coconut. And I also added 2 tablespoons of melted butter to the apple filling, because we like more of a pie type filling. As I said, this was excellent. Next time I will use at least one more apple, as I feel it was a little skimpy in the apple department. And I for sure want to try this with coconut! I used a 9x13 casserole dish for this, because I was concerned it would be too much for a 9 inch pie plate. I made homemade whipped cream and served this as a dessert for Thanksgiving. It got many compliments, and was definitely a favorite. I'll be filing this one away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Delicious!!! I've tried many different apple crisp recipes, I'm done searching! This is a keeper and my family will enjoy it time and time again. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States