Something Special Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Awesome topping. For the filling, I only used 4 thinly sliced apples: No sugar, spices, etc. The topping had enough flavor to take care of the apples. Perhaps a little less salt would be a good idea. I also did not use the coconut or nutmeg AND substituted a bit of the butter with vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe; however, I do agree with another reader that the butter may be a tad too much and definitely makes the paper liners greasey. I chose not to process the oats in the food processor, preferring instead, to keep them as is and they add a great texture to the finished product. I think next time, I'll try applesauce in place of the butter. This recipe is really, really good! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
A Bit too sweet, but the topping is marvelous and it turned out wonderful. I will just reduce the sugar used next time. Gret recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by broeliz@gmail.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I made a few tiny changes only to use what I had on hand. I did not have walnuts on hand so I increased the oats to 2/3 cup. Before tossing the apples with the filling ingredients, I tossed them in a little lemon juice and I used two tablespoons cornstarch instead of tapioca. I also added 2 tablespoons melted butter to the filling only to make more of a "filling" when it was combined with the juices of the apples during the baking process. Really, REALLY good. Jazz apples were on sale this week and a GREAT apple in this particular recipe. Crisp and slightly tart with a light sweetness. The smell of this while it was baking was ah-mazing! The one issue I had with this filling is it came out a little dry. When I try this again (and I will try this again), I'd make more of a juicier bottom by making a kind of apple pie filling out of either apple juice and water and the remaining ingredients. It could have been because my ingredients would not fit in a pie pan but I've really not had this happen before. The flavor was good and the sweetness was perfect--it just needs more "stuff" in the actual apple-y part. NOTE: My ingredients were too......much for a 9 inch pie pan. This fit into a 9x13 baking dish just right. 30 minutes at 350 degrees was just right for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Phenomenal. I made this with a friend at a party and everyone loved it! Comments included "That's crazy good cobbler" and "I normally hate baked apples, but holy ."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was delicious. I used my own homemade apple filling but this recipes crisp. The crisp was tasty, buttery, crispy and delicious! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
The crumb topping came out very well. It had a nice texture that held together well. I think there was too much vanilla, though--a little overpowering. The coconut blended in with the other ingredients. Maybe I'd taste it more with less vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I use my own home-made apple pie filling, and incorporate the topping from this recipe. My husband enjoyed it so much that he asked me to make it for his company Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Big hit in my household! Made it for a dessert on Thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
DEEEEEEELICIOUS! I added organic cranberries from a package to the apple mixture. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States