Something Different Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Best pound cake I've ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Too sweet. I followed it exactly, but much too sweet, even without the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This cake was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Made this multiple...Follow the recipe exactly. Use the sugar glaze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This cake has a great flavor! I really enjoyed it. I couldn't find my tube pan so I ended up using 3 smallish loaf pans. They baked for about 40 minutes and I turned the oven down to 300 because the edges were getting dark. It is definitely sweet. I may attempt it again with a little less sugar. I think it would be a great candidate for a good dousing of rum if you like rum cake. I also did not have coconut extract so I used vanilla extract in place of it. I love the crunchy top and edges! It is a bit crumbly which made it difficult to cut into thin slices and a bit messy. Overall taste and texture is very good. I will make LOTS of little holes next time. I didn't make nearly enough so parts of the slices were a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This pound cake is amazing! I made it for my step father who is really particular about his pound cakes, and he loved it! It's super flavorful and moist. You can definitely taste the hint of coconut from the extract without getting an overwhelmingly coconut flavor. The texture comes out almost like a fudgey consistency. The only thing I had to alter was the baking time. Had to bake it for an extra 10 minutes to achieve the appropriate doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I made this cake substituting a cup of pina colada mix instead of the milk, regular and evaporated. I used the leftover mix for the glaze. It turned out perfect and was a great hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made this cake for Thanksgiving & it was a hit! Everyone loved it. I'm not a pound cake eater, but this, I couldn't stay away from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This was very good, very moist and everyone loved it. I added 1/2 cup coconut to it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Absolutely delicious. Easy to make. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States