Somerset Pork with Cream and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Very good recipe - I made this for dinner for the family and everyone enjoyed it. Easy recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
We always add extra apples. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I am new in Scotland and I am trying new recipes and this one is great!! I used a dry cider beer and i little more heavy cream and there was no leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleenhall24
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Living in the UK made me anxious to try this with local ingredients (we actually live in Somerset). I do agree that it was bland even with local dry cider (much different from what you get in the US). Less cream might solve the problem but to the sauce just didn't have a lot of taste even with three different types of fairly tart apples (Cox, Braeburn & Delicious) and the dincredibly strong onions they have here. The pork however was extremely tender and my kids like it (passed on the sauce completely after the first taste). Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Taunton, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This is a georgous meal enjoyed by the whole family thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hotdog
Home Town: Lancing, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I was rather disappointed with this recipe- it was bland and not as creamy as I would have hoped- I had to add other spices too it- honestly, I don't think I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATRICK123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
This was very nice although I made a few changes. I used butterflied pork steaks instead of chops. I cooked the pork, then cooked the sauce then added the pork back to the sauce to heat through all in the same pan. Didn't have any apple cider so used a 1/4 cup of cider vinegar and made up the rest with chicken stock. Because of the vinegar the sauce was slightly tangy but it worked well with the sweet apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
This is a very good recipe! However, I noticed that the fresh thyme wasn't noted in the recipe instructions. I assumed it was to be sprinkled or pressed on top of the pork chops before browning, so that's what I did. I didn't sprinkle the cooked apples with sugar, as I used a Braeburn apple and it was quite sweet enough. I used Woodchuck Granny Smith Cider. I'm not sure if that's the right item (it's sold with the beer in stores here in New England) but it sure tasted very good! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tewksbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
Different than any pork recipe I have had, very flavorful. You wont have any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
I liked this recipe, but I thought it missed something. It was a little bland. Next time, I will double the apples and may even mix some BBQ sauce into the cider for more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States