Sombrero Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
My husband is without a doubt the most picky eater I have ever met. He has never even attempted to eat leftovers. He not only LOVED this dish, but ASKED for it the next night! since then, I have made several things from this site, and he has enjoyed them all...although this is his favorite. I wish I could give it a higher rating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Cilantro alert! But, I love cilantro, so this was no problem! This is well seasoned, and the cooking times are accurate, however, I started with the bacon, removed it from the skillet along with most of the drippings. Next, I cooked the chicken, after letting it sit in the seasonings while I prepared the veggies. Then I added back a little of the drippings and sauteed the onion and bell pepper, allowing them to get tender crisp. Next I added the tomatoes, stirred together with the cilantro. After about a minute, I added back the chicken and the bacon (which I crumbled). I stirred everything to combine, then I put 4 oz. of Monterrey Jack over all and allowed it to melt, as the original directions state. I served it with whole wheat tortillas, and I wish I had made guacamole, for it would have been a great addition to this dish. As TexCook stated in her review, chicken "fajitas without the grilling." Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Other than the cilantro which Hubs had no problems with me omitting, I stuck to the ingredients list exactly using a mix of red and green bell peppers. It was the technique I modified. I cut the bacon into chunky dice. I couldn't see trying to cook the vegetables and then the chicken efficiently together with already crisp-cooked strips of bacon. So I cooked the bacon separately. Removed some of the grease. Added in the vegetables and cooked then till crisp/tender. I had earlier mixed up the chicken strips with the fajita seasoning (to taste), a little water, fresh lime juice and a little vegetable oil. Once the vegetables were cooked I removed them from the pan and set them aside; then cooked the chicken and mixed everything together at the end. This was simply delicious and also made for a colorful and attractive presentation. We really enjoyed this so much. It was nicely spiced but not hot, so it was a real treat for Hubs to actually have something with a little spice that his sensitive innards could tolerate. I had full intentions of serving this with the tomato but I forgot - but this has so much flavor going on it wasn't even missed. Trying to watch carbs where I can, I didn't serve this in tortillas, choosing AR member SB's personal recipe "Cheesy Poblano Rice" instead. The Monterey Jack, a squeeze of fresh lime and a plop of sour cream was a nice finish. This will certainly make a comeback. It's a delicious and nutritious meal that's quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I changed this up so much that I'm actually going to write a custom recipe for it, but I think this recipes deserves five stars for the flavor alone. I didn't add the bacon, but we don't like it and I'm sure using it would have *lowered* the rating for us. Thanks for a recipe I found perfect for customization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Yum, turned out very good. We used it in flour tortillas with spanish rice on the side. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I fixed this one twice and everyone loved it, both times. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was great! I will make this again and again. REVISION: I had to wing it tonight, I did not have fajita seasoning so I used onion powder, cumin, paprika, a bit of cayenne, oregano, and sugar...they smell great. I will have to wait and see how they come out. At the end I added some lime zest and the juice of one lime. Oh yeah, I also cooked it in my electric skillet. I turned it all the way up so that I could get a good browning on the chicken. I served this with Terry's Texas Pinto Beans also from this site and some Spanish rice. YUM-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
We liked this. I didn't add tomato, but served it with salsa instead. I also only used 2 thick slices of bacon (we aren't huge bacon eaters) and the fat that burned off of that proved to be plenty to saute the other stuff in. Served in soft shells with guacamole and mex rice. The next day, with the left overs I cut up some lettuce to eat with the chicken and it was like a fajita salad. My husband really liked that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
3 of my 4 kids loved this recipe. I made this along with Mexican rice and refried beans and they told me it was the best meal they'd ever had. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
The bacon seemed out of place (not sure if that's traditional or not) but we won't use it next time. I'd chosen to marinade the chicken with "Fajita Marinade I" and so I skipped garlic powder & fajita seasoning called for in this recipe. I replaced the cilantro with a little bit of parsley. It was very tasty- Serve with sour cream, salsa and guacamole (or some Southwest sauce). We ate these with cheese/salsa nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States