Sombrero Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Other than the cilantro which Hubs had no problems with me omitting, I stuck to the ingredients list exactly using a mix of red and green bell peppers. It was the technique I modified. I cut the bacon into chunky dice. I couldn't see trying to cook the vegetables and then the chicken efficiently together with already crisp-cooked strips of bacon. So I cooked the bacon separately. Removed some of the grease. Added in the vegetables and cooked then till crisp/tender. I had earlier mixed up the chicken strips with the fajita seasoning (to taste), a little water, fresh lime juice and a little vegetable oil. Once the vegetables were cooked I removed them from the pan and set them aside; then cooked the chicken and mixed everything together at the end. This was simply delicious and also made for a colorful and attractive presentation. We really enjoyed this so much. It was nicely spiced but not hot, so it was a real treat for Hubs to actually have something with a little spice that his sensitive innards could tolerate. I had full intentions of serving this with the tomato but I forgot - but this has so much flavor going on it wasn't even missed. Trying to watch carbs where I can, I didn't serve this in tortillas, choosing AR member SB's personal recipe "Cheesy Poblano Rice" instead. The Monterey Jack, a squeeze of fresh lime and a plop of sour cream was a nice finish. This will certainly make a comeback. It's a delicious and nutritious meal that's quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I changed this up so much that I'm actually going to write a custom recipe for it, but I think this recipes deserves five stars for the flavor alone. I didn't add the bacon, but we don't like it and I'm sure using it would have *lowered* the rating for us. Thanks for a recipe I found perfect for customization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
My husband is without a doubt the most picky eater I have ever met. He has never even attempted to eat leftovers. He not only LOVED this dish, but ASKED for it the next night! since then, I have made several things from this site, and he has enjoyed them all...although this is his favorite. I wish I could give it a higher rating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Comforting, tasty, and fairly quick to pull together. I used turkey bacon and canned (drained) fire-roasted tomatoes in lieu of fresh tomatoes. The family loved it; I'll definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
When I made this for dinner last night, I expected this to be good, but nothing over the top. Boy, was I wrong! This little recipe was absolutely delicious. I did a few things different to prepare this recipe, but did not change any ingredients, and it could not have altered the outcome at all. I chose to grill my chicken, because I just couldn't believe the chicken would cook along with the bacon and veggies. I diced my bacon, cooked it and then took it out of the pan adding it when dinner was ready to be served. Those were the only differences (besides cutting back on the cilantro quite a bit, which is a personal preference). I served it in tortillas with a smear of sour cream and topped with the monterey jack and tomatoes. What a simple and absolutely delicious meal. These turned out to be the perfect fajitas. Thank you Rhonda for sharing your recipe...it will be a definite keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Very good recipes. I will make again but I will drain off most of the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
We LOVED this! I had some bacon already cooked, so I just cooked the green peppers, onions, chicken, garlic powder, some dried cilantro (that's all I had) and fajita seasoning (used more than called for, to taste) in a pan also adding in the juice of 1/2 of a lime. When that was almost done, I threw in the bacon and the juice of the other 1/2 of lime and finished cooking.. I did not put the monterey jack on right away b/c I was serving this on flour tortillas, so we just put it on then. Also served sour cream, the tomatoes and taco sauce on them. These were a HUGE hit w/ me and the hubby, and we both agreed that this would be wonderful on top of a salad, which is what I plan to do next time. Side note: I halved the amount of chicken, garlic powder and bacon, but pretty much kept everything else the same. A definite keeper and a new favorite~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Cilantro alert! But, I love cilantro, so this was no problem! This is well seasoned, and the cooking times are accurate, however, I started with the bacon, removed it from the skillet along with most of the drippings. Next, I cooked the chicken, after letting it sit in the seasonings while I prepared the veggies. Then I added back a little of the drippings and sauteed the onion and bell pepper, allowing them to get tender crisp. Next I added the tomatoes, stirred together with the cilantro. After about a minute, I added back the chicken and the bacon (which I crumbled). I stirred everything to combine, then I put 4 oz. of Monterrey Jack over all and allowed it to melt, as the original directions state. I served it with whole wheat tortillas, and I wish I had made guacamole, for it would have been a great addition to this dish. As TexCook stated in her review, chicken "fajitas without the grilling." Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This was very good. I did drain the grease from the bacon. We had this on tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Robins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is a fun idea - it's like fajitas without the grilling! I made this for my b/f and two of his friends last weekend (a moment of weakness agreeing to cook for 3 guys!) and they loved it. I added a few jalapenos along with the pepper and onion, and I used pepper jack cheese to give it a little bit of a kick, but otherwise I wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States