Sombrero Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
Yum, turned out very good. We used it in flour tortillas with spanish rice on the side. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This was a great change, I think the cilantro really made this dish. If i would change one thing, I would cut the bacon up in maybe quaters, but this was an EXCELLENT dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I fixed this one twice and everyone loved it, both times. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This was great! I will make this again and again. REVISION: I had to wing it tonight, I did not have fajita seasoning so I used onion powder, cumin, paprika, a bit of cayenne, oregano, and sugar...they smell great. I will have to wait and see how they come out. At the end I added some lime zest and the juice of one lime. Oh yeah, I also cooked it in my electric skillet. I turned it all the way up so that I could get a good browning on the chicken. I served this with Terry's Texas Pinto Beans also from this site and some Spanish rice. YUM-O
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I thought this was good. My hubby liked it but we didn't love it. It had too much cilantro which was a little overpowering. Also, we could not find fajita seasoning so we used taco seasoning, perhaps that might have made a difference. It is the kind of recipe I am inclined to try again with less cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
We liked this. I didn't add tomato, but served it with salsa instead. I also only used 2 thick slices of bacon (we aren't huge bacon eaters) and the fat that burned off of that proved to be plenty to saute the other stuff in. Served in soft shells with guacamole and mex rice. The next day, with the left overs I cut up some lettuce to eat with the chicken and it was like a fajita salad. My husband really liked that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
3 of my 4 kids loved this recipe. I made this along with Mexican rice and refried beans and they told me it was the best meal they'd ever had. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
My husband is without a doubt the most picky eater I have ever met. He has never even attempted to eat leftovers. He not only LOVED this dish, but ASKED for it the next night! since then, I have made several things from this site, and he has enjoyed them all...although this is his favorite. I wish I could give it a higher rating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Very good recipes. I will make again but I will drain off most of the bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is a fun idea - it's like fajitas without the grilling! I made this for my b/f and two of his friends last weekend (a moment of weakness agreeing to cook for 3 guys!) and they loved it. I added a few jalapenos along with the pepper and onion, and I used pepper jack cheese to give it a little bit of a kick, but otherwise I wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish you won't want to miss.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States