Sombrero Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Such great flavor. I wasn't exactly sure how to serve this. We heated up some tortillas and it was great. Maybe rice would make a nice side dish. I did end up with more liquid than I needed, but I just spooned it out before I added the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carlyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was delicious!! I took my cues from another review and cooked the bacon, veggies and chicken separately, then combined and covered with the fresh tomatoes. I did marinate my chicken in homemade fajita seasoning in the fridge all day. Served over rice, but I wish we had tortillas! It really was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason and Ella's G-Ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Nice dish with simple ingredients (no need to empty out your pantry for this one!). Followed recipe with the exception of subbing sharp cheddar for Monterey Jack (didn't have it). Very tasty, but probably wouldn't suffer from cutting back on the bacon (or omitting it entirely). This recipe has enough flavor from the pepper & onions, garlic & fajita seasoning...you could barely tell the bacon was in there, so why add the fat & calories? Will make again without bacon...definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This was the best! Oh my gosh! I have to share that I had to cook it in the oven, because we just moved and no pans yet! lol! I cooked the bacon in the morning and did not use any bacon drippings...you don't need it! So I took a 9 x 13 casserole dish...put the bacon on the bottom, layered with green pepper and onion, and half of the cilantro. I seasoned the chicken (chicken thighs, cheaper than breasts) as instructed, then just put it on top of everything else. When the chicken was almost done, I threw on a can of diced tomatoes, and let it cook a little longer. I started the oven at 375, then jumped it up to 400 degrees. I don't remember the total time...just checked until the chicken looked done. One other thing I did was I made my own fajita seasoning....easy and tasty. Then we just put the cheese and the rest of the cilantro on our fajitas as we assembled them. I think the cilantro is the key to this. You will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Great recipe ! I changed it up just a bit. Used two cans of rotel tomatoes instead of chopped fresh tomato because i wanted to serve this over rice. I also cooked the bacon, then the veggies, then the chicken. Added all back together with the rotel tomatoes, excluded the cilantro, and added salt and a bit more fajita seasoning. Hubby loved it ! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallymac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doyline, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Comforting, tasty, and fairly quick to pull together. I used turkey bacon and canned (drained) fire-roasted tomatoes in lieu of fresh tomatoes. The family loved it; I'll definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Flavor-wise this was very good. Next time I would remove the pepper/onion mixture before adding the chicken because they got waaaaay too done. Also, I would only use the bacon grease & leave the bacon for another use. I love bacon & the flavor of the bacon in this but just didn't care for that extra texture. Didn't seem to "go" with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
We LOVED this! I had some bacon already cooked, so I just cooked the green peppers, onions, chicken, garlic powder, some dried cilantro (that's all I had) and fajita seasoning (used more than called for, to taste) in a pan also adding in the juice of 1/2 of a lime. When that was almost done, I threw in the bacon and the juice of the other 1/2 of lime and finished cooking.. I did not put the monterey jack on right away b/c I was serving this on flour tortillas, so we just put it on then. Also served sour cream, the tomatoes and taco sauce on them. These were a HUGE hit w/ me and the hubby, and we both agreed that this would be wonderful on top of a salad, which is what I plan to do next time. Side note: I halved the amount of chicken, garlic powder and bacon, but pretty much kept everything else the same. A definite keeper and a new favorite~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
When I made this for dinner last night, I expected this to be good, but nothing over the top. Boy, was I wrong! This little recipe was absolutely delicious. I did a few things different to prepare this recipe, but did not change any ingredients, and it could not have altered the outcome at all. I chose to grill my chicken, because I just couldn't believe the chicken would cook along with the bacon and veggies. I diced my bacon, cooked it and then took it out of the pan adding it when dinner was ready to be served. Those were the only differences (besides cutting back on the cilantro quite a bit, which is a personal preference). I served it in tortillas with a smear of sour cream and topped with the monterey jack and tomatoes. What a simple and absolutely delicious meal. These turned out to be the perfect fajitas. Thank you Rhonda for sharing your recipe...it will be a definite keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I changed this up so much that I'm actually going to write a custom recipe for it, but I think this recipes deserves five stars for the flavor alone. I didn't add the bacon, but we don't like it and I'm sure using it would have *lowered* the rating for us. Thanks for a recipe I found perfect for customization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States