Sombrero Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Tried this recipe without the bacon, used canned diced tomatoes with peppers, my family loved it! It is one of the best recipes I've tried so far. Bravo.--Melissa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This was a simple recipe, easily adaptable if you are out of one thing or another. I did cook the bacon separately and used only a bit of the grease for the onions and peppers. I had a liquid fajita sauce so marinated the chicken in that and then drained it off. The tomato I thought I had I didn't, so instead I tossed in a drained can of Rotel at the end and heated it for a minute before turning off the heat and adding the cilantro and cheese. I had a jalapeno Monterey Jack cheese so threw that on for the melting and did use less so that it didn't overpower the dish. Tasty and easy - something that anyone who likes southwestern/Mexican flavors will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
used a packet of chili seasoning to marinate chicken along with some fresh lime juice and about a half of a cup of water while le last 20 min. of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I made this without the bacon and served over tortilla chips as fajita nachos. It had good flavor and was fairly easy to make. Next time I would like to use homemade fajita seasoning, in lieu of the pre-packaged that I bought. the cilantro was a nice touch. Thanks for sharing, RHONDA35!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Such great flavor. I wasn't exactly sure how to serve this. We heated up some tortillas and it was great. Maybe rice would make a nice side dish. I did end up with more liquid than I needed, but I just spooned it out before I added the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlyn Wise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was delicious!! I took my cues from another review and cooked the bacon, veggies and chicken separately, then combined and covered with the fresh tomatoes. I did marinate my chicken in homemade fajita seasoning in the fridge all day. Served over rice, but I wish we had tortillas! It really was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mason and Ella's G-Ma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Holts Summit, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Nice dish with simple ingredients (no need to empty out your pantry for this one!). Followed recipe with the exception of subbing sharp cheddar for Monterey Jack (didn't have it). Very tasty, but probably wouldn't suffer from cutting back on the bacon (or omitting it entirely). This recipe has enough flavor from the pepper & onions, garlic & fajita seasoning...you could barely tell the bacon was in there, so why add the fat & calories? Will make again without bacon...definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This was the best! Oh my gosh! I have to share that I had to cook it in the oven, because we just moved and no pans yet! lol! I cooked the bacon in the morning and did not use any bacon drippings...you don't need it! So I took a 9 x 13 casserole dish...put the bacon on the bottom, layered with green pepper and onion, and half of the cilantro. I seasoned the chicken (chicken thighs, cheaper than breasts) as instructed, then just put it on top of everything else. When the chicken was almost done, I threw on a can of diced tomatoes, and let it cook a little longer. I started the oven at 375, then jumped it up to 400 degrees. I don't remember the total time...just checked until the chicken looked done. One other thing I did was I made my own fajita seasoning....easy and tasty. Then we just put the cheese and the rest of the cilantro on our fajitas as we assembled them. I think the cilantro is the key to this. You will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Great recipe ! I changed it up just a bit. Used two cans of rotel tomatoes instead of chopped fresh tomato because i wanted to serve this over rice. I also cooked the bacon, then the veggies, then the chicken. Added all back together with the rotel tomatoes, excluded the cilantro, and added salt and a bit more fajita seasoning. Hubby loved it ! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sallymac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doyline, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Comforting, tasty, and fairly quick to pull together. I used turkey bacon and canned (drained) fire-roasted tomatoes in lieu of fresh tomatoes. The family loved it; I'll definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Granite Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States