Solomon Grundy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This is a great recipe if you are looking for something, quick, cheap and kid friendly. It costs approximately $4.00 to make( including macaroni or rice to serve it on),makes a ton, and tastes wonderful. My 3 year old gobbles this up each time I make it. You can add vegetables, sour cream or different spices to add more kick if desired. This is a weekly staple at my house. Gourmet food this is not, but just simple, great everyday fare. Definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I used some leftover homemade chicken veggie soup & it was great. My two year old had seconds (we were about to call Guiness World book on that one). It was surprisingly good for how easy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I basically added the ground beef to my leftover chicken soup for a little variety. I added only a little bit of water to reduce thickness. It came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirdonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Very kid friendly recipe. I changed it up a bit to add more flavor. Used one can of alphabet veggie soup and a can of beef veggie soup. Also added a half package of frozen mixed veggies. While browning the meat, I added some garlic powder and Mrs. Dash. Towards the end, I thickened it with cornstarch until it reached the consistency I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
This was pretty good, and very easy/fast. Kind of bland. I guess what soup you use could change that. Also for the soups I used this was a high salt/ high fat (lots of meat) meal. Not so sure about the "good for you claim". Very hearty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was good and so easyto make. I doubled the recipe as I wanted some for lunches for the week. I didn't double the water and I added another can of soup. We enjoyed this. My husband thought it needed more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I made this tonight with rice and really liked the smooth consistancy this dish has. Like other's suggested, I only used 1/2 of the water & thickened it up at the end with corn starch. Seemed a little bland so I did add pepper & a few shakes of Emeril's essence. I would have given this 3 1/2 stars, but since my picky kids cleaned their plates, this one deserves at least 4. Great idea Lorieann for a quick dinner. I will use this again & try other soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I only used 1/2 can of water which made the dish the right consistency. I added garlic and onion to the beef when I browned it. Next time I will add mixed veggies. And then maybe even experiment with different kinds of soups. An easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
wow this recipe was soooooooo good it came out soooooo creamy!!! i had it with steamed broccoli and mashed potatoes ohhh sooo good!! it tasted like really really excellent hamburger helper!!!! i would definately make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I'm not gonna lie - this didn't sound good to me, I only tried it because it was cheap and easy, but I was suprised by how yummy it was! I make this a couple times a month and everyone in the family eats it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Peppers

See how to make delicious, beefy stuffed bell peppers.

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States