Solomon Grundy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
We will definitely make this one again! Cheap, quick, easy and just plain good. Especially over biscuits--the refrigerator kind, of course. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This recipe was quick, simple, and good. I added one chopped-up onion and a clove of chopped garlic with the ground beef. I used a can of Campbell's Ready-To-Eat Beef Vegetable soup since that's all we had on hand (I drained it into a cup, added the solids, and then added as much liquid from the cup as I needed to get the right consistency). My family liked it and we'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I made this tonight with rice and really liked the smooth consistancy this dish has. Like other's suggested, I only used 1/2 of the water & thickened it up at the end with corn starch. Seemed a little bland so I did add pepper & a few shakes of Emeril's essence. I would have given this 3 1/2 stars, but since my picky kids cleaned their plates, this one deserves at least 4. Great idea Lorieann for a quick dinner. I will use this again & try other soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I don't think I even the full can of water in this. This was surprisingly yummy and even my husband (a VERY picky eater) said he would eat it again. Babygirl loved it, too - lots of things already toddler-sized in the soup. Total comfort food. Like a previous reviewer, I served this over hot biscuits. Next time I'll be using the frozen biscuits and it will be even better :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I only used 1/2 can of water which made the dish the right consistency. I added garlic and onion to the beef when I browned it. Next time I will add mixed veggies. And then maybe even experiment with different kinds of soups. An easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
Very kid friendly recipe. I changed it up a bit to add more flavor. Used one can of alphabet veggie soup and a can of beef veggie soup. Also added a half package of frozen mixed veggies. While browning the meat, I added some garlic powder and Mrs. Dash. Towards the end, I thickened it with cornstarch until it reached the consistency I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This is a great recipe if you are looking for something, quick, cheap and kid friendly. It costs approximately $4.00 to make( including macaroni or rice to serve it on),makes a ton, and tastes wonderful. My 3 year old gobbles this up each time I make it. You can add vegetables, sour cream or different spices to add more kick if desired. This is a weekly staple at my house. Gourmet food this is not, but just simple, great everyday fare. Definitely worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
wow this recipe was soooooooo good it came out soooooo creamy!!! i had it with steamed broccoli and mashed potatoes ohhh sooo good!! it tasted like really really excellent hamburger helper!!!! i would definately make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
Really simple and good. My 18 month old daughter loved it, so it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
Very easy to make and quick to prepare! My husband is a tough one and he even liked it! The kids gobbled it up!!! I served it over rice with potatoes julienne and southern style biscuits. Mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Unstuffed Cabbage Roll

One pot meal with cabbage, meat, tomatoes and seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States