Solomon Grundy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This is such an easy and delicious recipe! I made spiced mine up a little with garlic and onion and like other reviewer's, used a little less than half of the water called for. I added a little Gravy Master to brown the sauce a bit and served over plain Couscous. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Quick and easy for a flavorful meal. I'm sure homemade vegetable soup would work better than canned with the addition of garlic and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
I basically added the ground beef to my leftover chicken soup for a little variety. I added only a little bit of water to reduce thickness. It came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mirdonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I make a version of this I refer to as poor mans shepards pie. Using 1 lb lean ground beef and 2 cans condensed vegetable beef soup. Omitting the water. Before simmering I add 1 can of drained green beans and then make mashed potatos while its simmering. Add the potato's to the top and sprinkle with cheese. Once cheese is melted, its ready! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Bearnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I just made this tonight for the first time. I had two starving men here, and this made for a super-fast, filling meal. I used Beef with vegetables and barley soup, as I was out of regular vegetable, and served it over rice. My males LOVED it and so did I. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I'm not gonna lie - this didn't sound good to me, I only tried it because it was cheap and easy, but I was suprised by how yummy it was! I make this a couple times a month and everyone in the family eats it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was good and so easyto make. I doubled the recipe as I wanted some for lunches for the week. I didn't double the water and I added another can of soup. We enjoyed this. My husband thought it needed more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This was boring. Not a lot of flavor, but teen-aged boys liked it. Made some of the suggested adjustments and just had to admit that hamburger has little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roachwomanfw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
quick easy and delicious. to combat the water issue i cooked it a little longer to get it thicker. i served it over rice. easy way to sneak in veggies on my 1y/o. will def make again. might try different soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Okfinest

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I can't believe I've never thought of doing this before! This was so delish! The whole family loved it. We ate with mashed potatoes and over some drop biscuits. I'm telling everyone about this recipe. Oh soooo good! I seasoned my ground beef with garlic and onion powder but that's a normal thing for me. It doesn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkey, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States