Solianka or Russian Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2001
This soup was really good! I served it at a dinner party with a Russian theme and it was a big hit. It makes a very hearty main course. The only recommendation I have is to rehydrate the mushrooms and let the sand settle. Also, you may want to double the recipe and freeze some for future meals!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Don't be freaked out by the unusual list of ingredients - this is delicious and so warming for a cold night! Got rave reviews from my family, they loved the strong flavors:) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I didn't even read the directions, I just checked out the ingredients. They are too many!=)) But, I don't think they'd bother. Why you called Solianka "Beef Soup"?=) It's not! I would call it "Smoked Meat Sour Soup"! That would be the rightest name!=)) Anyway, sounds good! This is one of my favorite soups in my country (Russia). The original way is: stock based on a pickles brine, there are ham, sausages, bacon, kelbasa, some beef, lemons, olives (black and green), tomato pure, onions, celery.....what else?.........parsley, cilantro......oooohhh!!!!!!!!!!!!! pickles, diced..capers??? you can add but the original recipe comes with pickles, so...thanks! I rated this recipe with "five stars"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander Russian Magic Cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
excellent recipe, tasted just like when i was in Ukraine, very close
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food critic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
This recipe was very authentic and very close to what we were used to eating when we lived in Russia. My kids who were born in Russia and grew up eating Russian foods love this, but it might not go over so well with American kids. We love this, and I make it with all kinds of cooked meat in the traditional Russian fashion, in Russia Solianka is the "clean out your fridge" soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2001
This recipe is an excellent one. Sour, salty, and savoury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I was intrigued by this list of ingredients, and made the recipe exactly as written. It was sublime! I dream about this soup! Thanks, Karena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
this was so good i made this today for lunch i had this in a miami resturant a few years back. almost the same thing. My hubby did not care for this soup he said it was kinda sour also instead of tomato paste i used ketchup still very good.And i used half of the butter this recipe calls for it just was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This recipe is fantastic. I had this with a crusty bread topping in a restaurant in Vegas and it was outstanding; this is a good duplicate. I added about a 1/2 cup of Borscht to mine, that's the only difference when I make it. Sounds unusual, it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I signed up just so I could review this recipe. I made the soup yesterday and my husband said it's the best I've ever made! I used half the amount of butter and tomatoes (personal preference). I will be making this soup quite often, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States